Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Review

Like the game of snakes and ladders,these 2 discs contain plenty of downs with only a few up,mostly on disc 2 (NO JIVE),it was poor end to the 80's and a quiet start to the 90's.

Disc 1 SNAKES AND LADDERS (1989) after the superb CINEMA(1986) release,this is a bitter disappointment,like so much of their 80's output trapped with lifeless production and electronic drum programming,ultimately the band's sound was nuetered.For the most part average tracks such as 'Trouble','The Key' & 'Back To School' wander around lost in a world thats neither rock nor pop,mainly pap.Others such as 'Animals' and 'the particularly purile 'Donna Get Of The Crack' are an abomination and should never have been commited to tape.Highlights ? not many,but i'll plump for the heartfelt vocal on 'Helpless',the stirring 'Piece Of My Heart',i agree with the notes in the booklet,with the right production this could have been a hit single,in the early 80's Whitesnake vein,finally the blues pastiche of 'Lady Luck' gets pass marks.That 2 of the best tracks are covers,says it all,the band was spent,something had to give,sadly it was Manny Charlton.

Bonus tracks... 3 in all, a cheesy eurovision song contest wanna be 'Winner on the Night(just who was advising these guys at this point? ) plus 2 live tracks 'Woke Up This Morning/Bad Bad Boy,which being nowhere near the fire in the belly performance of yester year are still more than capabale of blowing away the rest of the disc. Probably the poorest Nazareth disc ever.. 1.5 stars

Disc 2 NO JIVE (1991) released on the Mauseleum label,quite apt as the band's recording career was almost dead,this certainly has a few decent moments,i wouldnt neccesarily agree with others that its a bona fide classic.Certainly the opening trio of 'Hire and Fire/Do Yo Wanna Play House and Right Between The Eyes' roar out of the speaker,and thank the gods,we have drums,real drums which put meat on the bones of these song,plus the fire from Billy Rankin,on what was his first Nazareth album,as sole lead guitarist.Unfortunately it all peeter's out quite tamely with the likes of 'Keepin Our Love Alive','Thinkin' Mans Nightmare' etc , while 'Cover Your Heart/Cry Wolf are just poor.The album is redeemed with the excellent 'RowanTree/Tell Me You Love Me with its BIG COUNTRY Celtic charm while 'Every Time It Rains' is the albums stand out track.

Bonus tracks ...2 of them ,the single version of 'Tell Me You Love Me' and a pointless ,lacklustre 'This Flight Tonight 1991. 3.5 stars
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like this:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Please write at least one word
You must purchase at least one item from Amazon to post a comment
A problem occurred while submitting your comment. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading the comments at the moment. Please try again later.

Product Details

4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
£10.84+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime