Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Review

One needs no other Donna Summer collection other than this exhaustive chronological set. Disc one contains all the earlier big hits of her disco era, including "Love To Love You Baby" (edited version) to the upbeat "Sunset People". Giorgio Moroder is also the background star on most of these hits, crafting all the complex synthesized rythyms. Stand outs are "I Feel Love" (lyrics written in five minutes - no kidding), "MacArthur Park" (a good remake) and "Heaven Knows", a dreamy dance number.
Disc two includes her hits that occured after she fell out of grace with the disco mode. There are plenty of great songs that were overlooked due to the disco backlash, such as, "The Wanderer", the romantically sultry "I'm A Rainbow", "State Of Independece" (another fantastic remake) and "All Systems Go", a great R & B number.
Not all is well in Donna-land, however. "Don't Cry For Me, Argentina" will literally have you crying for the original and her obligatory duet with Barbara Streisand "No More Tears (Enough Is Enough)" will give you the clear message that 'enough IS enough' already! It appears that the two girls were fighting for the lead or at least that it was recorded at separate times. Rumor has it that they never actually sang together in the studio. It sounds like it.
But, these are minor inconveniences; almost funny. For 34 songs over a two decade period, this collection does service to a former pop star diva.
11 Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like this:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Please write at least one word
You must purchase at least one item from Amazon to post a comment
A problem occurred while submitting your comment. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading the comments at the moment. Please try again later.

Product Details

4.8 out of 5 stars
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star