Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Moana - Listen with Prime Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Review

on 26 September 2011
I'll put my cards on the table. I generally give a wide berth to 'cover' albums made by artists who otherwise record their own songs for a living. At best, these releases do little more than remind you how good the original versions were, and at worst they seem like a cynical ploy to extract hard-earned cash from loyal fans.

Of course, there are exceptions to every rule and here's one of them.

If there's any justice to be found, this fine album should propel both Joe Bonamassa and Beth Hart directly into the mainstream. Better than Alison Krauss and Robert Plant's much-lauded "Raising Sand" collaboration, this is spine-tingling stuff with Hart's gorgeous voice and Bonamassa's masterful guitar-playing truly a musical marriage made in heaven.

Far from slavishly copying the original arrangements, there's real imagination and innovation going on here. Following Plant & Krauss, and numerous others before them, there's the seemingly obligatory Tom Waits song - this time it's the irreverent "Chocolate Jesus", re-imagined in jaunty vaudeville style.

Delaney & Bonnie's "Well, Well" with Bonamassa duetting on vocals rips along furiously, with a down and dirty version of Bill Withers' "For My Friend" giving free rein to the duo's rockier sensibilities. More recent inspiration comes in the form of Melody Gardot's sultry "Your Heart Is As Black As Night".

A strikingly different and slowed-down version of Aretha Franklin's "Ain't No Way" is just one of a number of stirring performances to leave a lump in the throat, whilst church is ably represented by a truly soul-baring adaptation of Lowell Fulson's "Sinner's Prayer", recalling another memorable version recorded a few years back by B.B. King with the guesting Ray Charles.

But impressive as this all is, the top honours are reserved for the duo's interpretation of Brook Benton's "I'll Take Care of You" featuring a smoking Bonamassa guitar solo alongside an extraordinary vocal performance from Hart that runs the gamut of emotions all the way from unspeakably tender to tortured.

More, please.
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like this:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Product Details

4.8 out of 5 stars
£11.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime