Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's
Customer Review

7 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What's With the Price Bro!!?, 27 Dec. 2011
This review is from: This Mortal Coil (Audio CD)
First rate music!!! But ... emmm ... mmm... - What's with the price bro?
Are you out of your mind?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in


Track comments by e-mail
Tracked by 1 customer

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-8 of 8 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 2 Jan 2012 21:16:55 GMT
eddiel says:
As per the other 1 star "review" this isn't really a review is it? It's comment on pricing strategies.

In reply to an earlier post on 3 Jan 2012 05:32:53 GMT
Arnon Ehud says:
It is a review on the package as a whole, isn't it?

In reply to an earlier post on 4 Jan 2012 23:58:13 GMT
Peter says:
No, it is not a review at all because it reviews nothing, absolutely nothing. If the 'package' cost £1 or £1000000 what would your 'review' add? After all its the same 'package' be it at £1 or £1000000. I suspect you have not actually listened to the box set at all....

In reply to an earlier post on 15 Jan 2012 20:10:21 GMT
The value of a product has to be seen in the context of the price. Would you pay £1000000 for a packet of biscuits? No, you'd think the price ridiculous.
Well, this product is way over-priced and that is why nobody with more sense than money bought it.

In reply to an earlier post on 17 Jan 2012 23:50:23 GMT
Peter says:
No, no, I think you have missed the point about what a review is.
Would I buy a packet of biscuits priced at £1000000? No, never, not even if said packet of biscuits was actually reviewed by someone who actually bought them (note: they may have bought them a £1, although more optomistic sellers may try to sell the same biscuits at an inflated price, even £1000000).
The orginal retail price for this item was, I think, £77. That's three albums, as originally released, plus an additional album of material. Two of those albums, if memory serves, were double albums. The additional album sought to add scope and depth to the production albums. The whole was packaged in an all new set of sleeves and box of the highest quality. I am describing the material as a whole because you seem to have no knowledge of it, nor any comprehension of the contents.

Yes, the inflated prices asked in the Amazon marketplace are ridiculous; but only when Amazon (and other main stream suppliers) have no stock. The product, your phrase not mine, is what it is: a collection from a house band that was 'This Mortal Coil'. The 'value' of a 'product' in this context appears to be beyond your field of experience. I bought this 'product' pre release, I already had every release on vinyl. CD or whatever, it mattered not one jot.

The 'price' of a 'product' is not a review of a product. A review is a critique of a subject as experienced.

In reply to an earlier post on 18 Jan 2012 06:29:43 GMT
£77 is not an acceptable price for another reissue. It's four CDs of old stuff being sold at nearly £20 a disc. You appear to have so much money that the amount concerned is an irelavance, most of us are not so fortunate. Look around at other bands' boxes and see how many are charging £20 per disc.

In reply to an earlier post on 20 Apr 2012 00:17:41 BDT
Last edited by the author on 20 Apr 2012 00:19:09 BDT
Peter says:
*giggles* at this post having looked at so many re-releases recently. The experience is not so much about £. The record companies know this of course, but they are only supplying a need. What comes first? It matters not to me. I do say 'no' to some of the excessive asks, the mono vinyl Bob Dylan reissues for instance I would love to own but could only justify the CD versions.

However, this re-issue, at the price of £77, was an automatic buy for me. Yes, I had the albums on vinyl and CD already, the extra disc was ok but I would rather have had a disc of the original recordings of the covered songs and/or versions but there you go. Collecting is expensive, even when collecting new releases. It is even more expensive if you collect after the fact and have to buy aftermarket. Yes the prices as of today, April 2012, are pure profiteering, do not pay. At release this was a gimme.

Posted on 25 Apr 2012 11:16:58 BDT
G. Smith says:
This release, was for me, absolutely unmissable & worth every penny! Unlike most poorly remastered & flimsily packaged
cd box-sets regularly pumped out by the major labels, with little or no regard for quality or content desired by fans, this
release was exquisitely designed, lovingly remastered & manufactured to the highest of standards in Japan; the overseas
manufacturing was the main reason for the high cost on release - but, if you could see & touch the beautifully made thick
card stock, glossy gate-fold sleeves (with obis), lovely cd inner-sleeves & booklets, held inside a nice two piece shiny &
super sturdy cardboard box - you might understand why the set retailed as high as it did...& that's before even playing the
excellent discs! I've many very good cd box-sets (Depeche Mode, Erasure etc.), but even I was taken aback by the quality
of this product; everyone I know who bought a copy has posted similar comments around the web. It's not fair to complain
about the item being over-priced by profiteering sellers after the release date; I pre-ordered my copy, because I knew it was
limited & couldn't miss out - & I thought the price was on the high side, but again, once I got my hands on the product, I was
overwhelmed by the high quality & immediately understood the reason for the price. Unfortunately, the costs & red-tape of
licencing nowadays, prevented a disc of originals being included (like the 1990s box), which has been a common complaint, but
I'm just happy that all the music has been sensitively remastered & includes tracks never before available digitally. For all those
people who want a cheaper option to the box, the three original albums will eventually be re-released singularly (though not the
extras disc) in the cardboard gate-fold sleeves, after all the old stock runs out; there is also an audio Blu-ray planned, which
should also prove more economical for the all those who missed out on the box, & won't pay the jacked up prices on the internet.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details



Location: Israel

Top Reviewer Ranking: 9,060,822