Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Review

on 10 October 2003
1995 was the year Death Row was to see their resurrection with a new rapper. 1995 was also the year 2Pac finally was released from all the struggles he survived. 2Pac was released from jail when he agreed to do 3 albums with Death Row Records and work with Marion 'Suge' Knight. As a result, the album placed #1 on the Billboard charts for quite some time as well as being the first album to reach multi-platinum status. To understand this album, you must first understand the struggles 2Pac went through before this album came out. 2Pac believed he was a menace to society in music. The vice president critizied him saying that his music had no place in a civilized area. 2Pac was also arrested and imprisoned for an alleged sexual assault and to top it off, 2Pac was attacked and robbed in 1994 when he went to go and record a track with a rapper. Reports say that about $40,000 worth of jewellery was taken from 2Pac. With all this happening to 2Pac, the album turned out to be more political and showing his darker side. This CD is packed with classics starting off with 'If I Die 2nite', where he sings in a sad voice. 'Me Against the World' depicts his problems with the government, politics and his enemies. Nice touch with incredible lyrics. 'So Many Tears' shows his darker side where he talks about death and how he feels unwanted but 'Temptations' sets the CD's mood into a happy mood. Songs like 'Lord Knows' and 'Heavy in the Game' are more hardcore and heart-filling whereas 'Dear Mama' has to be one of the most heart-filled tracks he has ever written. Words cannot describe just how perfect this track is, definately one of my favorites of all time by the legendary 2Pac. 'It Ain't Easy' is the most mellowest track on the album where 2Pac performs just as well as on any other track. 'F*ck the World' and 'Outlaw' are more angry and sad but 2 excellent tracks you should listen to very carefully. But the track you're really looking for on this album is 'Old School', a classic song. The tune is incredible and his lyrics could have been better but they are alright. 'Can U Get Away' is a song worth listening to but nothing to special to look forward to. Overall, this is a brilliant masterpiece. It features so many great songs outlining 2Pac's struggles and I reccommend it to any rap fan.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like this:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Product Details

4.8 out of 5 stars
£8.68+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime