Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now

Customer Review

on 8 October 2006
Woah, 43 unheard/unreleased/unrecorded songs of Hefner joy? And new photos and words on two cds? Its like hearing Hefner again for the first time! This one should be special...

Actually, in all honesty I was slightly dubious of this. Unreleased songs are unreleased for a reason right? I mean, there has to be a reason, generally because they just don't cut the mustard and don't work. But then, Hefner were always one of those band's who seemed to put the wrong song's on their albums, one's that made you think what were you thinking?!. So, with apprehensive joy...

The two cds here are split almost into demos and finished stuff, one cd for each. and both in reverse chronological order, or something like that anyhow. And the music here covers all bases when it comes to Hefner, from the early (and frankly pretty dodgy in places) badly recorded solo demo stuff from Darren to the more well known full band style things and back to the pretty much solo songs from the band's final gasps of life. Literally everything is covered here... and I really have no idea where to start when it comes to writing about the actual music thats encased in this behomoth of an album.

So, i'm not going to. It's a Sunday afternoon and this review has been half done since I got the album in question and I still have not managed to listen to every song on this thing. Just skipping through the tracks you are faced with some fantastic classic Hefner sounds and some godawful cheesy crappy messy things. It really is a total mixed bag this, but maybe it serves as a reminder to who Hefner were. This is certainly not just one for fans only. Hefner's actual albums were never for fans only either as everything they ever did was awkward and generally not quite on the mark... but that was Hefner. If you just want some random music this should certainly not be ignored, definalty not for everyone... indie pop with moogs and vintage drum machines, sexy talk and ungodly views... yes please.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like this:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Product Details

4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5 stars