Learn more Download now Shop now Pre-order now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Review

on 18 September 2000
This double CD tracks the development of XTC from the periphery of punk to the cottage industry of today. Every single is here, from the early crunch of "Science Friction" through the first hit "Making Plans for Nigel" to the releases from "Nonsuch" (Apple Venuses' predecessor): "Disappointed" and "The Ballad of Peter Pumpkinhead". The gradual maturing of XTC's Quintessential English Sound (copywrite NME's cliche dept.) is emphasised by the strict chronological order of the tracks and reaches its peak with the chronically under-achieving Grass and Wonderland. Its hard to reference XTC to any other band (think Wilco, The Kinks, The Beatles even...) but if you like music of any genre there will be something here that strikes a chord - ravishing!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like this:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Product Details

4.8 out of 5 stars