Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Learn more Learn more Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Review

on 19 May 2011
For years and years,Scott Gorham has whinged about the poor production of the Lizzy albums.I must add to my knowledge,no other member of Lizzy ever commented on this and I've no interview of Phillip Lynott mentioning this either,cynical are'nt I ? So Scott and his pal Joe Elliot of Def Leppard,got hold of the master tapes,stripped 'em down to just Phils bass and voice and built the songs back up again and hey presto here we are ,2 disc deluxe addition 2010 re-masters.Or are we ?? Various internet forum sites state that these are not new re-masters but just the 1996 versions,with an added bonus disc.Certainly to my ears ,Jailbreak (album) sounds clearer,but has'nt hit home like Scott promised us.Joe Elliot does mention they only had a tiny budget to do this,but if these are the 1996 versions,where did the budget go? Joe the expert, also mentions that 'technically' the little guitar solo on 'Boys are Back in Town ,is out of tune ,which to my mind says 3 things; 1.Who cares? 2.Coming from someone who's band totally embrace a perfect STUDIO sound & perfectionist mindset,that spend millions in the studio,then why o why is he invoved in Lizzy's re mastering at all,& with such a small budget,whatever it is ? & 3. Anyone ever seen/heard Elliot sing 'LIVE, IN-TUNE?,Thought not!'In fairness the bonus disc is of some interest ,the remixs' of Jailbreak and Emerald are fantastic as are the 2 versions of the 'Boys are Back in town' although 1 version would've done,but should Scott be doing this without the others involvement,especially as Thin Lizzy was Phillips band,who obviously can't express his take on these re-masters!Told you I was a cynic! Previously unreleased track Blues Boy is here as is a Radio 1 session version of Warriors.However,this package loses marks and value for money as other 'bonus material'i.e. the other Radio 1 session tracks were all previously released on the 'Peel Sessions'album and Derby Blues was on the 'U.K. Tour '75 album from a couple of years ago,so please be aware when you part with your hard earned cash,for this!Cynicism aside,there are some fabulous songs on here,if you don't already own this,you should own some version of it!5 stars for music, 3 stars for this concept and sales pitch!
14 people found this helpful
|22 Comments|Report abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like this:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Product Details

4.4 out of 5 stars