Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Review

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 24 April 2012
Five HUGE Stars! "Um Dia" (One Day) is finally the complete recordings of Brazilian super-diva Elis Regina's legendary appearance at the Montreux Jazz Festival on 20 July 1979 with both afternoon and evening performances in the correct order of presentation. Those who thought Warner Record's last 16 track release was the entire show will be shocked to learn there are 27 total tracks with differing versions of songs such as "Cobra Criada", "Cai Dentro", and "Maria, Maria". When she arrived at the 1979 Montreux Jazz Festival, Elis was informed that they had added an afternoon show, since her evening show had sold out fast and there was still great demand for tickets. As "Um Dia" shows for the first time in the correct performance order, faced with an unplanned show, nevertheless she and her quintet headed by husband Cesar Camargo Mariano on piano "blew the afternoon audience away" with a 13 song triumph and an encore of "Upa, Neguinho" and "Maria, Maria" to extended ovations. She came back, in what must have been an exhausting day that required a short break near the end given her high-energy singing style, with an 11-song show in the evening, with for the first time "Triste", "Na Baixa Do Sapateiro", and "Corrida De Jangada". And then, revitalized, she did 3 duets with heroic pianist Hermeto Pascoal: a searing "Corcovado", a sensational English/Portuguese "Garota de Ipanema" (The Girl from Ipanema), and a beautifully sung "Asa Branca", as the icing on the evening performance cake. Elis had forbidden Warner from releasing the tapes, touching off various conspiracy theories which I will avoid here. Three years later she passed away in a tragic accident at age 36. Warner relented to the fans and released two shorter CD releases of the afternoon concert over the years, but "Um Dia", released after 30 years, tells the complete 'Elis Regina at Montreux' story: both shows were triumphs in differing ways, sung to thunderous ovations. This is an "essential recording" for any Elis Regina, jazz, and MPB (Brazilian Popular Music) collection, recorded in vivid sound except for 2 momentary instances in the evening show. My Highest Recommendation. Five ENJOYABLE Stars! (2-Audio CDs: afternoon show-55min 3sec; evening show-63min 36secs, with booklet in Portuguese. All sung in Portuguese except "Garota de Ipanema".)
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like this:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Please write at least one word
You must purchase at least one item from Amazon to post a comment
A problem occurred while submitting your comment. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading the comments at the moment. Please try again later.

Product Details

5.0 out of 5 stars
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
£16.91+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime