Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit
Customer Review

7 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars From the Sublime to the Ridiculous, 3 July 2009
By 
This review is from: Borderline (Audio CD)
Ry Cooder is a superb guitarist, major catalyst (eg Buena Vista) and is most generous in bringing the attention of the world to many different types of music and musicians

Unfortunately he can't sing

You will rarely hear an album where the gap beween the quality of the the backing track and the lead vocals is so great. And that's why he has never personally achieved mainstream success for his own work

I wouldn't normally write such a negative review but someone somewhere needs to say this to aid potential purchasers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
  [Cancel]

Comments

Track comments by e-mail
Tracked by 1 customer

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-9 of 9 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 12 Jul 2009, 08:09:24 BST
I suppose its all about personal choice, but his voice is okay, and his music is sublime

Posted on 29 Mar 2011, 13:53:58 BST
I couldn't disagree more with "roy"
Have a listen again to "thats the way love turned out for me"
"Across the Borderline(far better than Freddy Fenders version)
"Get Rhythm (better than johnny Cash)
"Little Sister(way better than the Elvis version)"
"Crossroads"
"Lets have a ball"
The list is not exhaustive.Ry Cooder definatley has a great blues rock voice - very authentic in places.A very unique style for sure,but nothing wrong with that.His voice has a great quality of not knowing if it is a black guy or a white guy singing,and thats really cool.

I always get disapointed when his albums don't have much of his singing on it.It takes away so much from the Cooder experience.

In reply to an earlier post on 10 Jun 2011, 16:40:10 BST
roy says:
I respect your view - fortunately we don't all like the same things

You only have to compare his lack of mainstream success with that of (say) Eric Clapton who IMHO is a journeyman guitarist with no clear style of his own, but who has got an expressive voice and is able to pen a few good tunes plus classics like Layla and Bell Bottom Blues

I think at this stage that Ry is never going to make it big - I think if you compare him with the top African-American guitar slingers I think there's only Albert Collins who wasn't a first rate singer but he managed to develop a style which suited his voice which didn't just sound like he was just singing a song

Thanks for reading my review though

Posted on 7 Jun 2012, 00:10:30 BST
So what, it's all in the delivery mate. Would you call Dylan a great singer!!!. I rest my case.

In reply to an earlier post on 22 Nov 2012, 00:01:54 GMT
roy says:
I agree that Dylan is a great singer

Look at people he influenced - like Jimi Hendrix, even Levi Stubbs (Listen to Reach Out I'll be there)

In any case, all music criticism is just a matter of opinion

I really tried to like Ry's singing ...

Posted on 8 Jan 2013, 16:50:08 GMT
Last edited by the author on 8 Jan 2013, 16:51:40 GMT
Ry Cooder's never "made it big"?!! How many albums? How many movie scores?
How many guitarists rate him as one of the best? Just coz he ain't on Top of the Pops doesn't make him a failure for God's sake! The man is a legend in his own lifetime, and although he may not be a great singer, he is a superb musician & guitarist highly regarded by his peers, of which you are sadly not one.

Posted on 3 May 2013, 12:43:57 BST
[Deleted by the author on 3 May 2013, 12:46:27 BST]

In reply to an earlier post on 3 May 2013, 12:46:15 BST
I would say Ry has been very succesful. The only reason he has not been as succesful as Clapton - who I also like, is because of the material he has chosen to do over the years. He has never sold out to make a quick buck - but stayed true to his muse. Eric despite claims to the opposite sadly has in my opinion.

I believe Ry to be as good a singer as Eric no problem. I also think he is vastly superior to the likes of Dylan - (who incidently totally disproves the myth that you need a good voice to make it big ! - the list is not exhaustive!)

Ry's voice is almost as important as his guitar for me on a recording. I accept and respect that you don't "like" his voice (personal taste) but as a decent vocalist myself, I don't understand how you can call him a "bad " singer...

P.s . - check out Ry's vocals on "Cold Cold Feeling" on his new album - great blues vocals!

Posted on 29 Jan 2017, 18:03:51 GMT
This reviewer reveals a complete lack of knowledge of Ry Cooder & his vast array of work for himself & especially others.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

Reviewer


Location: Stalybridge

Top Reviewer Ranking: 11,208,031