Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer Review

I own a copy of this CD in the Warner Classics box-set that contains all of the recordings Maxim Vengerov made for Teldec between 1992 and 2000 BEST OF MAXIM VENGEROV; an excellent buy in itself. Along with Vadim Repin's contemporaneous Erato recording of the Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto Tchaikovsky & Sibelius : Violin Concertos, Vengerov's disc must be one of the best performances of this warhorse of the repertoire issued in recent years.

The recording, where Vengerov is beautifully accompanied by the Berliner Philharmoniker and Claudio Abbado, was made in the Philharmonie, Berlin, in 1995 and, despite the sometimes troublesome reputation this hall has as far as recording is concerned, the production and engineering team of Friedemann Engelbrecht and Ulrich Ruscher provided the artists, and us, with splendid sound-quality in the Teldec tradition.

An old "Penguin Guide" was enthusiastic about the Tchaikovsky:-

"Vengerov gives an inspired performance, with magic inspiration breathing new life into well-known music. This Tchaikovsky reading immediately establishes itself as a big performance, both in the daring manner and in the range of dynamic of the playing. For all his power and his youthfully eager love of brilliance, Vengerov is never reluctant to play really softly. The central Canzonetta is full of Russian temperament, and the finale is sparklingly light, with articulation breathtakingly clean to match the transparency of the orchestral textures."

For me, however, the inclusion of the less well-known Glazunov piece is what really makes this disc. The old "Penguin Guide" agreed:-

"Outstanding as Vengerov's Tchaikovsky is, his Glazunov is even more exceptional, for he gives a familiar concerto extra dimensions, turning it from a display piece into a work of far wider-ranging emotions, when he contrasts and shades the tone-colours so magnificently, keeping his richest tone in reserve for the third theme. Predictably, the dashing final section is breathtaking in its brilliance."

This wonderful CD, well-worth acquiring either like this or in the box set, and unhesitatingly recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like this:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Please write at least one word
You must purchase at least one item from Amazon to post a comment
A problem occurred while submitting your comment. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading the comments at the moment. Please try again later.

Product Details

5.0 out of 5 stars
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
£47.31+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime