Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer Review

on 24 October 2007
Two years have passed since the release of Good Apollo, I'm Burning Star IV: Volume 1: From Fear Through The Eyes Of Madness, and for myself and other Coheed fans these two years seem like an eternity. However, now it's finally here, the record we have been waiting for - and it doesn't disappoint.

Breaking tradition for the first track, The Reaping is the first introduction on a Coheed album with lyrics - and also replaces the 'Second Stage Turbine Blade' theme that has been running throughout the albums. It sets the mood for the album, and leads quite nicely into the title track.

No World For Tomorrow grabs you by the scruff of your neck and drags you face first into the album. Opening guitar line really sets you up for whats coming. The lyrics are apocalyptic and for once not too hard to see how they fit into the concept.

Feathers is fast becoming my favourite track on the album, although im not sure if it ever will be. Catchy and emotional, this is Coheed at their least proggy, and at their best poppy.

The first single off the album is a good one - although from the mass exposure from Myspace/Youtube has stopped me listening to it as much. The Running Free is catchy, with a chunky main guitar riff. Shame the chorus guitars are the same as The Suffering.

Forget about those live Youtube clips of Mother Superior RIGHT NOW. They do not do this track justice. Claudio's vocals are superb in this track, and Taylor Hawkins' drumming really comes through to me on this one. Easily my favourite track on the album, despite Feathers' persistence on trying. Simply fantastic, a must-be listen and most probably an upcoming single.

Gravemakers & Gunslingers was posted on Coheed's myspace, and if it hadn't have been then it would have to live up to a lot following the previous track. A change of style almost - gave me an 80's Hair metal vibe. Some people argue that it sounds like Ten Speed, but I can't really see the resembelence. A great song nonetheless, and some superb lead guitar.

Now for 'The End Complete' series. When i saw there were to be a series of songs like the Willing Wells, I immediately thought of The Final Cut when looking at this song. And what could be more epic than... nah, I won't spoil it. But Coheed fans will be pleasantly suprised when they get to the ending of these songs. Each track is clever and intricate, especially when it comes to On The Brink. Melodic and sweet, you know this is the end. So Long Amory.

Overall, this album is rather splendid. Coheed fans can debate whether it should have been proggier, but In my view, it couldn't be much more perfect. Can't wait for the next record already, and to see what the band do with these tracks live and how they go on from this story. Roll on Kerrang! Tour 2008!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like this:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Product Details

4.7 out of 5 stars
£6.85+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime