Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Review

on 25 February 2014
Great to hear Vincent Herring back in straight ahead jazz mode after his more recent brushes with funk and fusion. This is a terriffic live set set recorded st the Smoke Club in New York. Its the first time i can recall herring recording with Cyrus Chestnut on piano and what a great partnership they make. Chestnut swings like the clappers and herring blows harder than I have heard in ages which makes for a really, no pun intended, Smokin' session !
Pick of the album is easily the title track "Uptown Shuffle" a shuffling blues that grabs your attention and never lets up with Herring raising the roof with a screaming solo. The live sound is excellent and production values minimal making this exactly what it is - a great live session.
Another reviewer mentions other sessions to be released from Smoke's own record label - if they are as good as this i can't wait !
|0Comment|Report abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like this:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Product Details

4.7 out of 5 stars
£14.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime