Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Paloma Faith Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Review

on 10 June 2003
This book deals with all the McCartney output outside of The Beatles – so starting with “The Family Way” and ending with “Back In The US” (“Back In The World” appeared after the book was published). The book is divided into 4 sections – each section spans a decade, so 1970 – 1979 (subtitled: I Am Your Singer: Flying Solo With Wings), 1980 – 1989 (Subtitled: Rough Ride: The Wilderness Years. This because the author feels that McCartney lost his sense of direction during that period), 1990 – 1999 (subtitled: Looking For Changes: New Horizons, New Directions. The author states that McCartney started to think outside of the box in that decade – a rebirth of his music) and finally 2000 – present (Subtitles: Here Today – The Way Ahead).
The book deals thoroughly with all McCartney albums and singles and tracks on soundtracks etc. and contains plenty pictures of Album & single covers (all in black & white). For each song, there is a description on how it came about, personnel playing on the track, highest chart position (if applicable), Label details, Producer(s), Recording details and UK & US release date.
In the intro the author clearly states that he wants to provide a traditional discography with contextual information and a critical analysis. This means that we get to read his opinion of all McCartney’s music. Now opinion is a very personal thing, and I’m sure that, like me, you will not agree with everything that the author has written in that respect. Still, I have to say that I’ve read much worse examples of authors trying to force their opinion on the unsuspecting reader.
All in all the book seems to be a thorough piece of work, well worth having. I couldn’t verify all the details in the book, but I did find that it’s not always correct.
The song in question is “Through Our Love” from the Pipes Of Peace album (1983). I know for a fact that Geoff Whitehorn played acoustic guitar on that one, yet he is not listed on the track (which lists personnel: Paul & Linda McCartney, Eric Stewart) nor is he listed in the introduction of the album. This sort of thing always makes me wonder how correct the other details in the book are.
Still if your looking for a comprehensive McCartney discography, you can’t go wrong with this one for the price they’re asking for it.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like this:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Product Details

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5 stars