Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Review

on June 29, 2010
Between the demise of The Pixies and the "The Year Punk Broke" (1991, with Nirvana's Nevermind), Pavement released their first LP Slanted and Enchanted (Luxe & Reduxe 2CD Edition) to wild critical acclaim. I bought said album at the time (hey! I did whatever the NME told me to!) but found only around 4 tracks to my taste on it and quickly brought it at the local Tape & Record Exchange. Here is a 24-track compilation album of the 6 or 7 albums Pavement released before splitting. The fans allegedly decided the track listing and the result is very good. US 1990s alternative rock in excelsis. Lo-Fi but not amateurish, indie but with an ear for tunes, quiet/loud but not to the point of formulaic, Pavement are surely among the greats of indie rock. And my favorite tracks from Slanted and Enchanted are on the album.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like so:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Product Details

4.4 out of 5 stars