Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Review

on 5 November 2012
We all know Dan Penn as the songwriter who didn't like to step into the limelight himself.
He wrote the hits for others often with Spooner Oldham but also with Donnie Frits or Marlin Greene or Bob Killen.
We all know the big hits he's written for others: The Letter By The Box Tops, Dark End of The Street, I'm your puppet, Do Right Woman.
You will not find many of Penn's solo output rather many compilation albums of his songs sung by others.
Yeah, that kind of man.
But now, with the Fame recordings,you'll find a whole album of Penn's demo's (most in fully recorded form).
Some of his hits are here: The Puppet (as it was originally called) and You left the Water Running and It Tears Me Up.
Lesser known beauties as Rainbow Road and Far from the Maddenning Crowd are certainly worth their weight.
Anyway, 24 tracks that are all worth of your time.
This really is the album to get for 2012.
14 people found this helpful
|11 Comment|Report abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like this:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Product Details

4.9 out of 5 stars