Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer Review

Downloaded this album very cheaply from I Tunes. There is a real buzz about this power trio from Southampton and it's easy to see why. The album is not particularly challenging or original but is a perfect soundtrack to the summer and should happily rock from car stereos across the land. Indeed its great to see a UK band exploring territory which almost has a US copyright and succeeding in making it their own. I had previously heard the single "I don't know what I am" and actually thought it was the White Stripes albeit at their most commercial. Indeed White Stripes references abound on the first three tracks which is not a bad thing if the songs are as good as these (although I not certain about the record title).

Band of Skulls play with such confidence and verve that it's hard not to believe that they been around for years. "Death by Diamond and Pearls" does indeed evoke the squiggly purple one (Prince) with a very raunchy guitar riff before it heads off into Black Keys territory. "Blood" is swamp blues beautifully sung by Emma Richardson whose voice resonates very much like the great P J Harvey. Richardson shares vocal duties with lead guitarist Russell Mardsen. "Fires" is sung by both and is a great rock song.

I actually like the songs on this album most which detour from the more conventional rock format. Cold Fame is one of these and the album highlight. A very slow almost Radiohead like lament and is probably incredible live. Similarly the folksy and acoustic "Honest" sung beautifully by Richardson again steers into territory where perhaps the Band of Skulls will spend more time in the future. Mixing folk songs, blues and rock highlight that the true lineage of the "Band of Skulls" is the classic British rock of Cream and Led Zeppelin with some Pretenders thrown in for good measure. Indeed "Light of the Morning" sounds like something off Zeppelin's BBC sessions with drummer Matthew Hayward bashing away in true Bonham style over a Page style heavy blues riff. Perhaps upon reflection this album wears its influences a bit too openly its sleeve but this is a very new band and to hit this quality this early is astounding. An album then chock full of huge choruses and huge riffs and very commercial to boot, you suspect that this band has got what it takes to mount a frontal assault on the charts and no doubt headline a festival or two. Let us hope when doing so they develop the template set out here in a deeper way as the song "Dull Gold Heart" suggests is immanently possible. A new British band to watch with real interest.
55 Comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like this:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Please write at least one word
You must purchase at least one item from Amazon to post a comment
A problem occurred while submitting your comment. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading the comments at the moment. Please try again later.

Product Details

4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5 stars
£17.42+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime