Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Review

on 22 September 2000
If nothing else Tesla are trustworthy. You can guarantee that every album they release will be brimming with quality and for the most part 'Bust A Nut' is no exception, when it is good it really is absolutely stunning but when it is bad it is never any worse than average, and a lot of bands have built whole careers on average so that also carries some weight. What has been Tesla's secret is that they have never attempted to entwine their music with something as fleeting as image, therefore guaranteeing that its the music that gets the attention. This is Tesla in 1994, and that means a slightly harder edge to some of the tracks, remember this is NOT alternative in anyway but sounds a little more live, luckily Tesla are in truth little changed from 1991's 'Psychotic Supper'. They still play with immense grit, Jeff Keith's rasping vocals rub sandpaper into the wounds caused by the blistering guitar attack of Frank Hannon and Tommy Skeoch and the whole picture is very impressive.
This album has some very heavy songs, it is impossible not to be blown away by such sonic statements as 'Solution' or 'Action Talks' which verge on Power Metal! , while 'She Want She Want', 'Mama's Fool' and 'Games People Play' are more examples of the friendly accessible Rock for which Tesla are perhaps best known for. Two tracks that need a little more time to sink in are 'Rubberband' and 'Wonderful World'. The former acoustic-led, lulling you into a false sense of security before biting home with a huge chorus, while the latter is a snide, emotional tale of growing up in a ever changing, ever warlike society. The best track however is 'Shine Away' with its huge changes. Here both sides of the Tesla coin are displayed at once, in a song that is as sensitive in intent as it is in rabble rousing melody, the overall affect is one that is quite simply stunning and it is this kind of songwriting that have in my book given them a place as frontrunners in the Hard Rock genre. Not far behind is opener 'The Gate / Invited' which follows a similar path but again floors you. Credit at this point must be given to the producer Terry Thomas who has given the band a BIG BIG sound where the guitars cut, scream, cry and batter while the always tight as a vice rhythm section of Troy Lucketta and Brian Wheat is big and bold. Like Def Leppard with guts Tesla turn simple anthemic melodies into sweeping hard rock.
That's not the say the album is all roses, it can lag a little as 'Alot To Lose' is a quite predictable ballad, and 'Need Your Lovin' while a decent enough track is nothing spectacular and 'Earthmover' has a quite weak verse but the chorus improves it. However the balance is quickly restored thanks to 'Cry' which is more Tesla rocking greatness with a strong edge to it while 'Try So Hard' throws in some Beatles-ish melodies to good effect with great vocals from Jeff. Generally the album is very impressive.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like this:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Product Details

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5 stars
£6.56+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime