Learn more Download now Shop now Pre-order now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Review

on 23 December 2013
Having had such a low opinion of Osmo Vanska's readings of both the 5th Symphony and the Violin Concerto (although I accept that Leonidas Kavakos was brilliant in the violin concerto)we have here performances of both works that show how it should be done.

Kennedy and Rattle in the violin concerto are as one. There is an understanding between them, a chemistry that is so rarely heard. I had an old cassette of this which I always loved, and it remains my favourite version of my favourite violin concerto.

And the superlatives carry over to the 5th Symphony where Rattle, in his CBSO days, gives in my opinion the best performance of this symphony ever committed to disc. If only Rattle had stayed like this allowing the music to flow.....unfortunately his interpretations seems to have lost some of the freedom and immediacy in Berlin.

However, let's just revel in this CBSO version which is as near perfection as I'll ever hear.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like this:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Product Details

4.8 out of 5 stars