Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now
Customer Review

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...Good God Almighty!" - Soul Men/I Thank You...Plus by SAM & DAVE (2012 Edsel 2CD Remasters), 26 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soul Men & I Thank You...Plus (Audio CD)
I've already reviewed the 1st disc reissued for Sam Moore and Dave Prater in this Edsel series - "Hold On, I'm Coming/Double Dynamite" - which covers their first and second albums on Stax in 1966 (and some singles surrounding those releases). This 2nd reissue gives us their 3rd and 4th albums on Stax and Atlantic and is just as stunning in every way – sound, presentation and (despite it being a 2CD set) value-for-money price. Here are the finite details…

UK released 26 March 2012 (10 April 2012 USA) - Edsel EDSD 2131 (Barcode 740155213138) is a 2CD reissue/remaster and breaks down as follows:

Disc 1 (35:14 minutes):
1. Soul Man
2. May I Baby
3. Broke Down Piece Of Man
4. Let It Be Me
5. Hold It Baby
6. I’m With You
7. Don’t Knock It
8. Just Keep Holding On
9. The Good Runs The Bad Away
10. Rich Kind Of Poverty
11. I’ve Seen What Loneliness Can Do
Tracks 1 to 11 are the album "Soul Men" – released October 1967 in the USA on Stax Records ST-725 [Mono] and STS-725 [Stereo]. The STEREO mix is used.

Tracks 13 and 12 are "Soothe Me (Recorded Live In London, England)" and "I Can't Stand Up For Falling Down" – see Singles List below

Disc 2 (53:48 minutes):
1. I Thank You
2. Everybody Got To Believe In Somebody
3. These Arms Of Mine
4. Wrap It Up
5. If I Didn’t Have A Girl Like You
6. You Don’t Know What You Mean To Me
7. Don’t Turn Your Heater On
8. Talk To The Man
9. Love Is After Me
10. Ain’t That A Lot Of Love
11. Don’t Waste That Love
12. That Lucky Old Sun
Tracks 1 to 12 are the album "I Thank You" – released November 1968 on Atlantic Records SD-8205 [Stereo]

Track 13 is "This Is Your World" – non-album - see Singles List below
Tracks 14 and 15 are "Can't You Find Another Way (Of Doing It)" and "Still Is The Night" – non-album - see Singles List below
Tracks 16 and 17 are "Soul Sister, Brown Sugar" and "Come On In" – non-album - see Singles List below
Tracks 18 and 19 are "Born Again" and "Get It" – non-album - see Singles List below

This 22-track 2CD set will also allow fans to sequence the following US Stax and Atlantic 7" singles surrounding the two albums [13/1 = Track 13/Disc1 etc]:
1. Soothe Me (Recorded Live In London, England) [13/1] b/w I Can’t Stand Up For Falling Down [12/1] – Stax 45-218 (June 1967)
2. Soul Man [1/1] b/w May I Baby [2/1] – Stax 45-231 (September 1967)
3. I Thank You [1/2] b/w Wrap It Up [4/2] – Stax 45-242 (February 1968)
4. You Don’t Know What You Mean To Me [6/2] b/w This Is Your World [13/2] – Atlantic 45-2517 (May 1968)
5. Can’t You Find Another Way (Of Doing It) [14/2] b/w Still Is The Night [15/2] – Atlantic 45-2540 (August 1968)
6. Everybody Got To Believe In Somebody [2/2] b/w If I Didn’t Have A Girl Like You [5/2] – Atlantic45-2568 (October 1968)
7. Soul Sister, Brown Sugar [16/2] b/w Come On In [17/2] – Atlantic 45-2590 (December 1968)
8. Born Again [18/2] b/w Get It [19/2] – Atlantic 45-2608 (March 1969)
[Note: the 'studio' version of "Soothe Me" rather than the 'live' cut was used as a UK 7" single on Stax 601004 in March 1967 with "Sweet Pains" as its B-side – both songs s are on the "Double Dynamite" album – available on the 1st CD by Edsel mentioned above (Tracks 20 and 22)]

PHIL KINRADE at Alchemy Studios in London has done the mastering and it's a fantastic job – muscular and pounding out of your speakers like those old 45's used to do. Being 60's Soul and recorded with indecent haste in less than audiophile conditions - there's hiss on occasion and some muddiness to the bass every now and then – but mostly this remaster sounds 'so' clear to me – the brass, drum whacks and guitar - much better than the early Nineties Rhino discs I've had for years now. And as a sucker for those 45's and their double-shots of brilliance – I also love the fact that this release allows me to line up those songs for play – and in top sound quality too.

The 20-page full-colour booklet featuring a 4000-word essay by noted Soul expect and aficionado TONY ROUNCE is superlative. Rounce has had a long-time association with both Edsel and Ace Records of the UK and their Philadelphia and Chess CD reissues - and his work here is typically indepth, knowledgeable and enthusiastic in a way that only British Soul nuts can be. Pages 12 and 16 have gorgeous full colour plates of each album sleeve and the rest of the text is peppered with insert photos of the Florida (Sam) and Georgia (Dave) boys in various live shows. There's a track-by-track Discography at the rear and it even reproduces the original liner notes that graced the back of each American LP sleeve. Rounce’s liner notes also extend to their later years (aged 76, Sam Moore is still with us and singing). In other words Edsel could have taken the easy way out and put in a foldout 3-page filler that would have sufficed – but they haven’t – and they're to be praised for this.

To the music – the album "Soul Men" is considered by most to be their best album and it’s easy to hear why. Fast or slow – the song quality is tops. Lesser-heard album tracks like "Hold It Baby" and "I'm With You" are brilliant (lyrics above) – equal to any of the single releases. The torch ballads "May I Baby" and "I've Seen What Loneliness Can Do" are belters too. I have to say that I find the 'live' version of Sam Cooke's "Soothe Me" only ok – I much prefer the album cut on the "Double Dynamite" LP. But I can 'so' see why Elvis Costello covered the superb non-album B-side "I Can't Stand Up For Falling Down" – another slowy with Soul power. The title track is of course their most famous song - it hit the number 1 spot in many countries around the world and was quite rightly inducted into the US 'Grammy Hall Of Fame' in 1999.

"I Thank You" opens with the band sounding 'so' tight on the title track. But it's the gorgeous vibe of "Everybody Got To Believe In Somebody" that impresses even more. Penned by the inimitable duo of ISAAC HAYES and DAVID PORTER – it should have been a smash, but alas the 45 waned at the same time their career did. Other highlights include the piano/guitar ballad of "If I Didn’t Have A Girl Like You" and the building intensity of the holy-roller cover "That Lucky Old Sun" - which finishes the album in style. The singles are fab too – I especially like the quality B-sides "This Is Your World" and "Come On In". Scottish Soul Rockers DEACON BLUE did a lively B-side cover of the superb "Born Again" on their "Real Gone Kid" CD single in 1988. Like I say – it's an embarrassment of riches (even if some of MONO mixes aren't on here).

To sum up - presented well, sounding spiffing and cheaper than a soiled paper napkin in Buckingham Palace – this is a huge amount of top Sixties Stax Soul for peanuts money...

PS: Lovers of ATLANTIC, STAX and VOLT Records should note that as of October 2012 there is a massive reissue program of classic albums going on in Japan - 100+ titles to be exact (which includes Sam & Dave). They feature Fifties Blues and R'n'B, Sixties and Seventies Soul and Funk/Fusion. All are budget price (£7.50 per disc) and feature 2012 DSD remastering. Many of these titles are familiar - but a huge number are new to CD. For a full detailed list of these Japanese reissues - see the 'comment' section attached to this review...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
  [Cancel]

Comments

Track comments by e-mail

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-2 of 2 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 23 Oct 2012 23:45:20 BDT
Mark Barry says:
Using the seemingly generic title "Atlantic R&B Best Collection 100" - Japan-only CDs are being released in two phases so far - 3 Oct and 7 November 2012.
Each features a budget price tag of just over 950 Yen - $12 for US customers, £7.50 for UK buyers and 9.20 Euros for Europeans (with P&P added on of course).
This is the cheapest I've seen quality Japanese CDs ever go for - and what's really enticing is that all titles feature 2012 Digital Remastering (DSD).

They come in standard jewel cases with an inner booklet containing the lyrics and description etc.
The campaign even covers many of the early Fifties RHYTHM 'N' BLUES LPs - LaVern Baker, The Clovers, Joe Turner, T-Bone Walker and Chuck Willis.
And BLUES too - Buddy Guy and Junior Wells, John Lee Hooker, Albert King and Blind Willie McTell.
And those elusive Seventies SOUL and FUNK gems - Beginning Of The End, Nikki Giovanni, Major Harris, The Persuaders, Clarence Reid and Philippe Wynne.
There's even an 80's title by The Spinners...

Here's an alphabetical list of the titles (within Artists titles are in release-date order):

ARTISTS...
1. LaVern Baker [aka "Rock & Roll"] - LaVERN BAKER (1957)
(Released 7/11/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27566)
2. The Wildest Guitar - MICKEY BAKER (1959)
(Released 7/11/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27587)
3. Darrell Banks Is Here! - DARRELL BANKS (1967)
(Released 7/11/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27581)
4. Soul Finger - BAR-KAYS (1968)
(Released 3/10/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27517)
5. Funky Nassau - THE BEGINNING OF THE END (1971)
(Released 3/10/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27541)
6. There's Gonna Be A Showdown - ARCHIE BELL & THE DRELLS (1969)
(Released 3/10/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27508)
7. The Soul Of A Bell - WILLIAM BELL ((1967)
(Released 3/10/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27531)
8. No Time To Burn - BLACK HEAT (1974)
(Released 7/11/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27577)
9. Blue Magic - BLUE MAGIC (1974)
(Released 3/10/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27548)
10. Magic Of The Blue - BLUE MAGIC (1974)
(Released 7/11/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27578)
11. Thirteen Blue Magic Lane - BLUE MAGIC ((1975)
(Released 7/11/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27579)
12. Green Onions - BOOKER T & THE MG'S (1962)
(Released 3/10/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27512)
13. Soul Dressing - BOOKER T. & THE MG'S (1965)
(Released 3/10/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27513)
14. Hip Hug-Her - BOOKER T. & THE MG'S (1967)
(Released 7/11/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27551)
15. Doin' Out Thing - BOOKER T. & THE MG'S (1968)
(Released 7/11/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27552)
16. Ruth Brown [aka "Rock & Roll"] - RUTH BROWN (1957)
(Released 7/11/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27565)
17. If You Need Me - SOLOMON BURKE (1963)
(Released 7/11/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27555)
18. Rock 'n' Soul - SOLOMON BURKE (1964)
(Released 3/10/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27507)
19. King Solomon - SOLOMON BURKE (1968)
(Released 7/11/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27556)
20. I Wish I Knew - SOLOMON BURKE (1968)
(Released 7/11/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27587)
21. Dance The Cool Jerk With The Capitols - THE CAPITOLS (1966)
(Released 3/10/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27538)
22. This Is Clarence Carter - CLARENCE CARTER (1968)
(Released 7/11/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27568)
23. The Dynamic Clarence Carter - CLARENCE CARTER (1969)
(Released 3/10/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27514)
24. Testifyin' - CLARENCE CARTER (1969)
(Released 7/11/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27557)
25. Patches - CLARENCE CARTER (1970)
(Released 7/11/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27570)
26. Yes Indeed! - RAY CHARLES (1960)
(Released 3/10/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27528)
27. The Clovers - THE CLOVERS (1956)
(Released 7/11/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27567)
28. Sweet Soul Music - ARTHUR CONLEY (1967)
(Released 3/10/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27546)
29. Shake, Rattle & Roll - ARTHUR CONLEY (1967)
(Released 3/10/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27547)
30. Soul Directions - ARTHUR CONLEY (1967)
(Released 7/11/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27574)
31. More Sweet Soul - ARTHUR CONLEY (1969)
(Released 7/11/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27575)
32. Mercy! - DON COVAY and THE MIDNITERS (1964)
(Released 7/11/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27553)
33. See-Saw - DON COVAY (1966)
(Released 3/10/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27515)
34. First Landing - THE DYNAMICS (1969)
(Released 7/11/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27580)
35. Knock On Wood - EDDIE FLOYD (1967)
(Released 3/10/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27543)
36. The Way I Feel - NIKKI GIOVANNI (1975)
(Released 3/10/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27520)
37. Play The Blues - BUDDY GUY and JUNIOR WELLS (1972)
(Released 3/10/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27526)
38. My Way - MAJOR HARRIS (1974)
(Released 3/10/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27534)
39. Don't Turn Me From Your Door - JOHN LEE HOOKER (1963)
(Released 7/11/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27583)
40. Margie Joseph - MARGIE JOSEPH (1973)
(Released 3/10/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27535)
41. Sweet Southern Soul - LOU JOHNSON (1969)
(Released 3/10/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27545)
42. Land Of 1000 Dances - CHRIS KENNER (1965)
(Released 3/10/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27539)
43. King Of The Blues Guitar - ALBERT KING (1969)
(Released 3/10/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27525)
44. Don't Play That Song! - BEN E. KING (1962)
(Released 3/10/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27509)
45. What Is Soul? - BEN E. KING (1967 UK LP)
(Released 7/11/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27571)
46. Supernatural - BEN E. KING (1975)
(Released 7/11/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27572)
47. Freddie King Is A Blues Master - FREDDIE KING (1969)
(Released 3/10/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27523)
48. My Feeling For The Blues - FREDDIE KING (1970)
(Released 7/11/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27597)
49. Instant Groove - KING CURTIS (1969)
(Released 3/10/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27519)
50. Over The Rainbow - PATTI LaBELLE & THE BLUEBELLES (1966)
(Released 7/11/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27584)
51. Dreamer - PATTI LaBELLE & THE BLUEBELLES (1967)
(Released 3/10/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27540)
52. Workin' On A Groovy Thing - BARBARA LEWIS (1968)
(Released 7/11/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27573)
53. Here Is Barbara Lynn - BARBARA LYNN (1968)
(Released 3/10/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27530)
54. Love Is Here And Now You're Gone - TAMI LYNN (1972)
(Released 7/11/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27594)
55. The Mad Lads In Action - THE MAD LADS (1966)
(Released 7/11/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27586)
56. Last Night! - THE MAR-KEYS (1961)
(Released 3/10/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27536)
57. Do The Pop-Eye With The Mar-Keys - THE MAR-KEYS (1962)
(Released 7/11/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27589)
58. Clyde McPhatter & The Drifters [aka "Rock & Roll"] - CLYDE McPHATTER & THE DRIFTERS (1956)
(Released 7/11/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27562)
59. Atlanta Twelve String - BLIND WILLIE McTELL (1972)
(Released 7/11/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27595)
60. Thin Line Between Love And Hate - THE PERSUADERS (1972)
(Released 3/10/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27532)
61. The Persuaders - THE PERSUADERS (1973)
(Released 7/11/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27579)
62. Best Thing That Ever Happened To Me - THE PERSUADERS (1974)
(Released 7/11/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27590)
63. Burnin' - Live At Freddie Jett's Pied Piper, L.A. - ESTHER PHILLIPS (1970)
(Released 7/11/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27598)
64. In The Midnight Hour - WILSON PICKETT (1965)
(Released 3/10/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27504)
65. The Sound Of - WILSON PICKETT (1967)
(Released 3/10/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27505)
66. I'm In Love - WILSON PICKETT (1968)
(Released 7/11/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27592)
67. Wilson Pickett In Philadelphia - WILSON PICKETT (1970)
(Released 7/11/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27593)
68. Sings Soul Ballads - OTIS REDDING (1965)
(Released 3/10/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27501)
69. The Soul Album - OTIS REDDING (1966)
(Released 3/10/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27502)
70. Complete & Unabridged - The Otis Redding Dictionary Of Soul - OTIS REDDING (1966)
(Released 3/10/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27503)
71. The Immortal Otis Redding - OTIS REDDING (1968)
(Released 7/11/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27559)
72. King & Queen - OTIS REDDING and CARLA THOMAS (1967)
(Released 7/11/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27558)
73. Dancin' With Nobody But You Babe - CLARENCE REID (1969)
(Released 7/11/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27582)
74. Running Water - CLARENCE REID (1973)
(Released 3/10/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27542)
75. Mourning In The Morning - OTIS RUSH (1969)
(Released 7/11/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27588)
76. Double Dynamite - SAM & DAVE (1966)
(Released 3/10/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27506)
77. I Thank You - SAM & DAVE (1968)
(Released 7/11/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27554)
78. Take Time To Know Her - PERCY SLEDGE (1968)
(Released 3/10/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27529)
79. Mighty Love - THE SPINNERS (1974)
(Released 3/10/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27533)
80. Love Trippin' - THE SPINNERS (1980)
(Released 7/11/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27591)
81. The Sweet Inspirations - THE SWEET INSPIRATIONS (1968)
(Released 3/10/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27521)
82. What The World Needs Now Is Love - THE SWEET INSPIRATIONS (1969)
(Released 3/10/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27522)
83. Howard Tate - HOWARD TATE (1971)
(Released 3/10/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27518)
84. Wanted One Soul Singer - JOHNNIE TAYLOR (1967)
(Released 3/10/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27544)
85. Gee Whiz - CARLA THOMAS (1961)
(Released 7/11/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27560)
86. Comfort Me - CARLA THOMAS (1966)
(Released 3/10/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27537)
87. Carla - CARLA THOMAS (1966)
(Released 7/11/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27561)
88. Just One Look - DORIS TROY (1964)
(Released 3/10/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27516)
89. The Boss Of The Blues - JOE TURNER (1956)
(Released 7/11/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27563)
90. Joe Turner [aka "Rock & Roll"] - JOE TURNER (1957)
(Released 7/11/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27564)
91. T-Bone Blues - T-BONE WALKER (1959 LP - includes 4 Bonus Tracks)
(Released 3/10/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27524)
92. The King Of The Stroll - CHUCK WILLIS (1958)
(Released 3/10/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27527)
93. My First Time Around - BETTY WRIGHT (1968)
(Released 3/10/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27510)
94. I Love The Way You Love (featuring Clean Up Woman) - BETTY WRIGHT (1972)
(Released 3/10/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27511)
95. Hard To Stop - BETTY WRIGHT (1973)
(Released 7/11/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27576)
96. Starting All Over - PHILIPPE WYNNE (1977)
(Released 7/11/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27596)

COMPILATIONS...
97. Apollo Saturday Night - VARIOUS ARTISTS (1964)
(Released 7/11/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27599)
98. Atlantic Rhythm & Blues 1947-1974 - VARIOUS ARTISTS
(10-disc Box Set released 23 May 2012. Was originally an 8-disc set issued in 1991 - this Japan-only version with different artwork adds on 2 bonus discs - most are MONO Fifties rarities) - £120
99. Saturday Night At The Uptown - VARIOUS ARTISTS (1964)
(Released 7/11/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27600)
100. The Stax/Volt Revue Volume 1 - Live In London (1967)
(Released 3/10/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27549)
101. The Stax/Volt Revue Volume 2 - Live In Paris (1967)
(Released 3/10/12 on Warner Brothers WPCR-27550)

Available through Amazon or cdjapan websites

In reply to an earlier post on 24 Dec 2012 23:03:17 GMT
Mark,

In a more sane time in history, you would be leader of the free world - THANK YOU for all of your fantastically informative reviews!!!

Happy holidays, Lawrence Sojka
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item

Reviewer

Mark Barry
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   

Location: London

Top Reviewer Ranking: 15