Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now
Customer Review

206 of 224 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best 7" Tablet on the Market, BUT not at this Price, 13 Nov. 2012
By 
The Google Nexus 7 now comes in three versions, from other suppliers.
16 gb from £158
32 gb from £195
32 gb plus 3g for £239

My remarks, below, about the BBC iPlayer have now been superseded by the release of a BBC iPlayer app.

My Original Review from August 2012

This Tablet is great!! I've only had it a couple of days, and I cannot recommend it enough.
Firstly, I'm a silver surfer, so not young. I already have an Android HTC Desire S phone, which makes the set-up familiar.

I bought the larger 16GB version, as there is no expansion SD card slot, for £199.99 from, sounds like, what you eat after the pub on a Friday night.
Come on Amazon, I know it competes with the Kindle, but let the punters choose, instead of having this overpriced offering.

I've been waiting for a few months for this Asus Google Nexus 7 tablet to come out, after reading lots of industry reviews and hoping the hype was true, and it is.

As someone else said, it's easier to set up if you already have a Google account. It imported all my contacts, emails, Chrome bookmarks and some of the Apps I had on the phone, Astro file manager and SkyEye, for you astronomers, Google Maps, Google Earth.

To look at the internet or movies or pictures in landscape mode:
Pull down the menu from the top with your finger and touch the circling arrows around a rectangle symbol.

Yes you can watch BBC iPlayer, using the Nexus 7

1. Using the Nexus 7 download the Firefox Beta Browser from Google Play.

2. From inside Firefox Beta using your Nexus 7 find, download and install both these files.

Adobe Flash Player 11.1_11.1.115.11.apk

BBC iPlayer_1.3.apk

The BBC are working on a less techie fix, but this works for now.

With the Nexus 7 you can surf the web, watch iPlayer even without Wi-Fi if you have a 3G Android phone.

On your Android phone Go To: All Apps select Wi-Fi Hot Spot and follow the instructions, password etc.

When it is set up, using your Nexus 7 tablet Go To: Settings, then Wi-Fi.

If you are using an HTC phone, look for HTC Portable Hotspot, it will say something similar if you have another make of phone.
Now you can have the internet on your Nexus 7 anywhere you have a phone signal. Brilliant.

I know I could look at the internet on the phone, but it makes the experience more comfortable.

If you have BBC iPlayer in your Chrome Bookmarks Bar on your computer, it will automatically sync into your Nexus 7 Bookmarks.

The screen rendering is so fast. I've transferred some of my movies and TV shows, that I had converted, from my phone and they work very well. My Bluetooth headphones registered immediately, no faffing like in Windows.
Being able to speak questions into it and getting 90% correct answers.
The Google translate app is fantastic. Say any phrase in English, then have it say it in the language of your choice, just like the Star Trek Universal Translator.

Battery life seems good, although I haven't had time to really push it yet.
I've just received a Black Carbon Fibre Print PropUp Stand Case Cover & G-HUB ProPen Stylus from Amazon, which turns the the Tablet Off and On when you open the cover. Just waiting for the screen protectors I ordered to arrive, because of my greasy fingers.
Built in mono speaker, but stereo head phone jack or Bluetooth. On first use, the music player is better than my phone, five slide graphic equalizer, bass boost & 3D effect.
With the MySMS app you can text from it as well as email.

I can see this becoming the new Filofax for the 20 tens.

Update 3 months on. Still think the Nexus 7 is great.
There was an Android Update this week and now the Home Screen spins as well, when you change from Portrait to Landscape mode, which it was criticised for not doing so before.

.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
  [Cancel]

Comments

Track comments by e-mail
Tracked by 2 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-6 of 6 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 14 Nov 2012 21:35:58 GMT
Couldn't agree more with your review, except the BBC iPlayer is now available from a dedicated app so no need for the Flash download.

I can't believe that it's so expensive here for the 32GB version either (£229 at time of writing when it's £199 everywhere else). I'm after one for a Christmas present and wanted to buy from Amazon because of the free delivery. Now it's whether to wait for the price to come down here or buy from tesco Direct (who will deliver to local store free) ...

Posted on 18 Nov 2012 14:27:13 GMT
can u do your online banking on it!!

In reply to an earlier post on 18 Nov 2012 23:08:22 GMT
Last edited by the author on 18 Nov 2012 23:12:15 GMT
Martin says:
I would imagine yes, as it has Google chrome as the browser, but personally, as any tablet or phone is small enough to be carried around and can be easily stolen or lost, I would not do so.
Most banks now expect you to have some sort of card reader or code input machine (HSBC) to access or do transactions in your account, so you would have to carry that as well.
I hope that helps.

In reply to an earlier post on 18 Nov 2012 23:22:27 GMT
Martin says:
The updates come so thick and fast, I forgot to add the release of the BBC iPlayer app. to my review.
I did read some criticism about the quality of the picture using the app, as opposed to Flash.
I don't think Amazon will ever sell the Nexus 7, as it is not in their interest, as they make the Kindle Fire.
You should be able to buy one locally though, and it does one good to get out occasionally.

Posted on 3 Dec 2012 06:42:43 GMT
A.N. says:
your information is very helpful. I have HTC phone with unlimited internet connection, here in California. your tip helped me to discover how useful it is... great.!

Posted on 22 Dec 2012 16:58:11 GMT
[Deleted by the author on 22 Dec 2012 17:00:38 GMT]
‹ Previous 1 Next ›

Review Details

Item not available
Reviewer


Location: London, England

Top Reviewer Ranking: 20,692