Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer Review

on 16 April 2013
Recommended. The so-called Dollar Symphony (no.6) is a tuneful piece, but perhaps the Fourth Symphony ('Sinfonia Piccola') is even more attractive. Both are here given lively, committed performances, and the recording is well up to Chandos's usual standard.

Atterberg is not a major figure, but his brand of late Romanticism deserves a hearing, and in such a good version his music stands a better chance of being appreciated. The insert note talks of the ironic aspects of the Dollar Symphony (which Atterberg wrote to win a substantial prize, and was successful), and the experienced Neeme Jarvi brings out the unconventional aspects of the work.

The woodwind playing is particularly fine, and I enjoyed this disc.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like this:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Please write at least one word
You must purchase at least one item from Amazon to post a comment
A problem occurred while submitting your comment. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading the comments at the moment. Please try again later.

Product Details

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
£15.12+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime