Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop now

Customer Review

on 5 May 2013
To the general 60's/70's music fan,the name David Gates simply means his hit group of the early 70's' Bread',but to devotees of the 60's Girl Group Sound,David Gates is one of the holy trio of 60's Girl Group Sound producers.alongside Phil Spector and Van McCoy-,responsible for some of the genre's jewels(The Girlfriend's thundering' My One&Only Jimmy Boy'-the Spector. imitation to end all Spector imitations to name just one)To Northern Soul fans, too he is a justly revered name,having been responsible for producing and/or writing such beloved Northern favourites as Margaret Mandolph's two treasures 'Something Beautiful' and 'If You Ever Need Me ' on his own great 'Planetary' label and Suzi Wallis' superlative 'Tell Him' on RCA.I've been waiting&hoping for a CD of David Gates' productions for years and now it's here.Many tracks are making their CD debut of course it's;so wonderful to have Margaret Mandolph's sublime rare beauty 'If You Ever Need Me' on CD at last and in great sound,but it's a little disappointing that the A side of Margaret's other 45' the equally,if not even more exquisite 'I Want To Make You Happy' isn't included-this track still hasn't made it to any CD I know of-I can understand not including her Northern classic 'Something Beautiful' as it has appeared on Northern Soul CD's but why not 'I Want To Make You Happy '? This is the one very slight complaint,though.Rare Rockin' Records should be eternally thanked for ,if nothing else,simply for putting Suzi Wallis' magnificent 'Tell Him'(not the Exciters song) on CD at last in fantastic sound;this is one of THE masterpieces of the Girl Group Sound,of 60's female Pop even,in my view; and David Gates once said he couldn't remember most of the records he produced in the 60's! Incredible-he should be reminded and congratulated for such works of genius! There are some forgettable tracks on here,for sure,they're not all gems-for every goodie like Dorothy Berry's cracking 'Standin' On The Corner' one of the nice new sounds to me on the CD,there are some very ordinary pop trifles,but that shouldn't deter anyone from buying this CD who loves the 60's Girl Group Sound and high quality female Soul/Pop.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like this:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Please write at least one word
You must purchase at least one item from Amazon to post a comment
A problem occurred while submitting your comment. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading the comments at the moment. Please try again later.

Product Details

4.8 out of 5 stars
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star