Learn more Download now Shop now Pre-order now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Review

on 12 February 2008
I can not stress to you just how good this album is!

If you are a fan of sleaze rock, then when you hear this album you will understand it when I say that this album is up there with Skid Row's debut and dare I say it, not too far behind Guns N Roses' Apetite for Destruction! If this album had been released anywhere between 1987-1989, it most certainly would now be regarded as a classic.

This is the debut album from Swedish rockers, Crashdiet. Released in 2005, this four piece truly created something special. There are no fillers on this album, every song is a classic in itself.

The opening four tracks, are the "big four" so to speak. From the opening track "Knock Em Down" to the sound of those sirens and the bass which open "Riot in Everyone", you know you're listening to an album that's full on sleaze rock, but still mature in its song writing. These guys know what they're doing and they deliver it with style.

"Queen Obscene' is definately a track destined for the dance floor (a good sing-a-long head-banger)and the anthemic "Breakin' the Chainz", will have you singing the chorus on the first listen, but hey so will the others! ;)

"It's a Miracle" is an amazing ballad, more in the vein of GNR's Rocket Queen than a Sweet Child O' Mine, and to be honest, it's up there with it.

If you are lucky enough to buy the Japanese version of this album, you will get another great ballad in "Tomorrow", a song that should have made it on the regular release.

I am not exaggerating in what I say about this album. I love sleaze, so maybe I'm biased, but this is a mature sleaze rock album. Something that most bands in the sleaze scene don't have unfortunately, and that's maturity in the songwriting. Maturity does not make it less sleazy, it actually makes it even more sleazy and something you will want to listen to again and again. It's catchy, it's sleazy and you know on the first listen that these guys know how to play and know what they're doing.

Dave Lepard's vocals and lyrics are amazing, but tragically he passed away in January 2006. This album now exists as a classic reminder of his work but also as the classic debut that has paved the way for Crashdiet to continue with new vocalist, Ollie.

You will not be disappointed!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like this:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Product Details

5.0 out of 5 stars