Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Review

on 18 October 2011
Peter Gabriel is possibly one of the most exciting artists in popular music history. He has always been driven to explore new sounds and create new concepts whilst maintaining a very high standard on each of his releases. "New Blood" does not disappoint and Peter delivers very convincing reinventions of some of his best known tracks as well as some less obvious songs.

"The Rhythm Of The Heat" is my personal favourite here and has a wonderful and captivating orchestral arrangement which brings this particular song to life. "Downside Up" has very beautiful and soft string arrangements which bring added beauty to the melody. "San Jacinto" has that grandiose feeling to it which classical arrangements are so renown for whilst the brilliant "Intruder" is interpreted in a much more dramatic way, portraying the original songs delighting angst and cruelty. "Wallflower" is effectively melancholic and bold with piano and strings accompanying Peter's deep emotive voice. "In Your Eyes" and "Red Rain" sound just as powerful and majestic as their original versions and the melancholy of "Mercy Street" is just as apparent if not enhanced by the subtle and mesmerising arrangements. Although not as good as all of the aforementioned songs, "Darkness" is good but loses a little bit of it's rawness and intensity and "Don't Give Up" is nearly identical to the version with Kate Bush, but I do prefer her vocal to her female replacement Ane Brun. "Diggin In The Dirt" is quite interesting, but the final section of the chorus sounds a little flat where the melody is lost for a brief moment. "The Nest That Sailed The Sky" is a touching and pleasant instrumental and, although it does not add to the release in any way, "A Quiet Moment" is 5 minutes of tranquillity with sounds of birds chirping and running water. The bonus track "Solsbury Hill" is uplifting and is still a very magical track.

The album is a true delight and success. Peter Gabriel has not only managed to reinvent some of his all time classics, but he has also shown us how a talented artist can think outside the box and bring us new music through the method of rediscovery.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like this:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Product Details

4.2 out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5 stars
£6.11+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime