Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Review

on 2 April 2009
If you're planning on a relaxing summer journey, this record may be worth throwing in the suitcase. Boozoo Bajou's third album finds the German duo at their most laid-back, and has a smattering of gorgeous vocal tracks as well, including a new female vocal, Humer.

The eleven tracks are cut fairly equally between song-based tracks and instrumentals. The first half of the album is heavier on 'songs' and kicks off with the languid, summer lounge of 'Flickers' before the upbeat, feel-good soul of 'Sign', a song to mind 70s bands like Tower of Power. Although from different genres and featuring different vocalist, these songs set a mood of chilled out relaxation and feature instantly hummable vocal melodies.

After an instrumental we arrive at the album's strongest part, the Zero 7 tinged 'Same Sun' featuring Humer, followed by 'Grains', another acoustic guitar led track with a male vocal. The latter has a vocal that sounds like early Pink Floyd and recalls the dreamy nature of songs like 'Grantchester Meadows'. Both songs are perfect accompaniment to driving down country lanes in the sunshine, generally watching the world go by.

After this the album becomes dominated much more by instrumentals. Here what passes for subtlety for some may for another listener be boredom. But for a fan of Boozoo's earlier stuff they will see some development in instrumentation -- 'Tonschraube' features some superbly recorded horns, really buried in the mix, while 'Kinder Ohne Strom' invests in some electronics to complement its wild-west guitars.

On the vocal side Rumer comes back for the plaintive 'Messengers' before the ambient fade out of 'Nebelkloster'. The choice of last track is really elliptical and contemplative, a bit like the end of Tosca's J.A.C. album where 'No More Olives' provides the same effect.

I really enjoyed this album. It features much better vocal tracks than on 'Dust My Broom' and the instrumental tracks have interesting nuances that show Boozoo developing their sound and influencing further. The pace does drop off slightly through tracks 6-7, but it's still a great summer album, the atmosphere consistent throughout.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like this:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Product Details

4.5 out of 5 stars