Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Review

on 5 October 2003
Oh My God!!!! if you don't own this album already what are you thinking. After being introduced to the wonder's of Tori Amos through her magnificent Scarlet's Walk album, i thought it couldn't get any better. I was wrong. I successively bought all of her albums and this is the overall gem...Starting out with the magnificent Pretty Good Year, sending out a vibe of 'well it's been a crap year but lets look on the positive side', it draws you in immediately, escpecially when Tori's beautiful piano tinkling turns into all out rawk for a mid song interlude-my personal favourite part of the whole album, though there's many contenders. Second track God secures the promise that this is an unmissable album. Bells for Her doesn't see Tori's vocal range stretch once during it's five minute duration, which is unusual for her, though it is captivatingly brilliant all the same. Tori Amos is my all time favourite song writer, and these songs are very well thought out as usual. Past The Mission, perhaps the best single from the album, sees her burst in to song immediately after the gentle notes of it's predesessor end, almost shockingly and abruptly. Baker Baker is a low point of the album, good, but isn't really that deep lyric wise and i tend to get lost in it's dullness a bit. Back on top form though, Tori exceeds the talent of all her peers with The Wrong Band and Waitress followed by the one that everyone knows, Cornflake Girl.
Tori leads us to think that the next track is an instrumental-what a waste i think, until her silvery vocals slide into the beautiful piano backdrop of Icicle. Cloud on my Tongue and Space Dog follow and still have that addictiveness about them that makes you want to finish the album and listen to it all over again.
10 minute epic Yes, Anastasia ends the album on tip top form, the track could easily be extended to 20 minutes and still captivate. That's it, it's finished, so press repeat and listen all over again.
So the overall question is: Is this album truly as spectacular as this review says?
Excuse the pun but:; You bet your life it is!!!!!!!!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like this:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Please write at least one word
You must purchase at least one item from Amazon to post a comment
A problem occurred while submitting your comment. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading the comments at the moment. Please try again later.

Product Details

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 stars
£5.57+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime