Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Review

TOP 100 REVIEWERon 26 September 2013
The underrated trumpeter, Dizzy Reece was born in Kingston, Jamaica in 1931, moved to London in 1948 and then New York in 1959 where he recorded several BLUE NOTE albums. Miles Davis once described Dizzy Reece as "a great trumpeter who's got soul and originality, and above all, who's not afraid to blow with fire".
This excellent 5-CD set features 60 tracks in chronological order with various quartets, quintets and sextets mainly recorded for TEMPO, BLUE NOTE & NEW JAZZ between 1954 & 1962.
Among the many musicians appearing with Dizzy on these recordings are saxophonists Tubby Hayes, Ronnie Scott, Sammy Walker, Hank Mobley, Joe Farrell & Cecil Payne; pianists Harry South, Victor Feldman, Terry Shannon, Wynton Kelly & Hank Jones; bassists Lennie Bush, Lloyd Thompson, Paul Chambers & Ron Carter and drummers Tony Crombie, Phil Seamen, Art Taylor & Charlie Persip.
The title 'Complete Recordings 1954-62' is misleading as Reece's hard-to-find 1960 BLUE NOTE sessions later released as 'Comin' On!' in 1999 are not included(probably due to copyright reasons).
Despite this unfortunate omission this bargain 5-CD set contains some impressive hard bop and is a fascinating anthology of the work of an overlooked trumpeter with an informative booklet from jazz saxophonist & writer Simon Spillett.

Btw ~ Some of the tracks on CD4 from his 1959 BLUE NOTE album 'Star Bright' have been mistitled:

'The Rebound' is track 5 not 6
'I Wished On The Moon' is track 6 not 7
'A Variation On Monk' is track 7 not 5.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like this:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Please write at least one word
You must purchase at least one item from Amazon to post a comment
A problem occurred while submitting your comment. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading the comments at the moment. Please try again later.

Product Details

4.0 out of 5 stars
4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
£12.82+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime