Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer Review

on 3 February 2003
Darren Hayes returns after the success of the band Savage Garden. Darren works with Walter Afanasieff, Greg Biek, Robert Conley and most importantly Rick Nowels. Spin is very different to SG's music but still very much the same. It's a fun, romantic, funky record. If the Moulin Rouge was a record, this would be it. The opening track Strange Relationship kicks in with strings. This skillfully written song expresses a complicated love affair and is one of my favourite songs. The sexy romantic Insatiable follows where Darren gets to "show off" his outstanding vocal abillity. The beautifuly written lyrics make this one of the best songs on the album, Insatiable is a magic song. Straight after that you get hit with the funky beats of Heart Attack. Some people after hearing this song have compared Darren to Michael Jackson. Its one of the funkiest songs on the album. I Miss You is a simple but beautilful ballad. The meaning of it is when you just love somebody so much you miss them all the time - when they leave the room - you want to follow them. This song reminds me of the savage garden hit I Knew I Loved You and reminds me how brilliant Darren is at wrtiting truthfull simple, beautifull love ballads. Creepin' Up On You is probably one of my favourite up-tempo songs off the album. It's extrememly catchy chorus will have you singing it all day. it's another pukka song! Dirty! is not Darrens attempt at covering a Christina A song, but instead he delivers a funky, sexy, DIRTY song! Another pop-tastic song. Crush (1980 ME) is a pop treat! Descibing Darrens favourite year - 1983. It opens: "Cyndi Lauper, Jackson, Simon Le Bon, I put Eurythmics on". This catchy little tune is irressitable and one of the best songs off of Spin. You wont be able to help yourself from joining in on the chorus.... "Gotta little Crush, ooooh I just cant get enough of that stuff, such a rush....." I cant ever get enough of you is another simple yet beautifull ballads from Darren but wouldnt make my top 5 songs off of the album. Good Enough is a song which everyone can relate to. Darren just states that because he's different or just "not perfect" - could he be good enough - which I think everyone asks themselves sometimes.Also Darrens voice at the and will wow your socks off - how does he sing that great? Just because you dont fit the typical stererotype doesnt mean your not good enough is what I think Darren is saying in this song. The intro to Like It Or Not always gets me crying - its just something about the mood of the song which is very meloncholy but true.Its about losing someone and not knowing how much they meant to you but knowing that you can never get them back again. Another skilled song from Darren. What You Like is a funky love song - not my favourite at first but now it has grown on me and I really like this song. Last but not least Spin! This is one of my favourite songs. Darren sings about the importance of music today and shows how this album is a celebration of music. Current affairs are in this song but the chorus : "when the music feels like this, when you lose control you gotta go with it, 10 feet hight flying above the sky, your problems dont exsist , when music feels like this. This funky brilliant produced song is the perfect song to end the album with.Perfecr pop but with a true meaning. It leaves you feeling happy and in love with music, particulary Darrens.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like this:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Product Details

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5 stars