Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now
Customer Review

82 of 95 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best small Led Panasonic have ever made !!!, 21 Mar. 2013
By 
This review is from: (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Electronics)
Please dont listen to the numpty who has given this TV a 1 star rating. Do your own research on proper websites, who review Tv's for a living :), and you'll soon see this TV is worth every penny. I work for an independent TV shop who specialize in Installing Panasonic and Sony panels. The E6 range at its price point is a no brainer,brilliant calibration control, amazing networking features and gives hands down the best picture performance a small panel panasonic lcd/led has given to date ! I have 10 years experience day in day out installing TV's and have probably owned well over 30 screens of all shapes and sizes in the last 8 years or so( currently A Pioneer Plasma , Panasonic projector,Panasonic led and sony LED ) and im currently using the 39e6 in my conservatory as a monitor for a high end PC, ps3,xbox 360 and a Wii U , and im very pleased with the results, infact i love this budget TV !. Aesthetically very pleasing as well :)

2 features i like from an installers/enthusiast point of view are, firstly the TV will now boot to last input instead of booting to "No channel found please check Aerial etc etc " if you dont have an aerial, and you only have av equipment and your av equipment is currently off, that is what you always see on any panasonic TV before 2013. I know it sounds anal but its much nicer to see a blank hdmi screen when your TV comes on, rather than your TV saying you need to check aerial and start auto setup ! and secondly the 2013 panasonic range finally support full range RGB as upto now all panasonic TVs have only supported ltd RGB range. as a gamer and PC user I much prefer the option to use the full colour spectrum, and rinse every last detail out of my graphics ! These features are long overdue in my eyes but probaly wont mean alot to you general punters though. Hope this helps anyways :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines ">here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
  [Cancel]

Comments

Track comments by e-mail
Tracked by 4 customers

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-8 of 8 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 21 Mar 2013 18:48:11 GMT
Thank you very much for your thorough review. As someone who obviously knows about TV's I have a question that I hope you can try and answer! I am currently debating whether to go for the Samsung ES5500 37" in sale (£429...not bad!) or splash the cash on the E6B 39". Would I regret going for cheaper option do you think? Thanks in advance.

Posted on 27 Mar 2013 09:58:46 GMT
Last edited by the author on 27 Mar 2013 10:07:02 GMT
D. Thompson says:
I see that the 2012 model TX-L42E5B is selling for £478.97 in Currys. We have the TX-L32E5B, which we're happy with so, apart from built in wi-fi, what's the difference that justifies spending £220 extra on this (with a 3" smaller screen) compared to the TX-L42E5B. I asked the question at Richer Sounds who just said they had no idea why the new Panasonic TVs are so much more expensive. The Panasonic wif-fi dongles are costly (£50) but even so there must be a something else to account for such a massive price hike?

Edit: I'm guessing that the answer is that the £700 being asked now is a "launch price" for the 2013 model and will drop. Probably a good idea to wait if you can, but I'm genuinely interested what's going on inside this TV that differs to the 2012 model from an 'average man-in-the-street' perspective. Thanks in advance.

In reply to an earlier post on 2 Apr 2013 17:53:48 BDT
Last edited by the author on 2 Apr 2013 17:54:38 BDT
Thanks for the suggestion! I actually had the 32E5 for a while. I thought the picture quality itself was fantastic for movies and documentaries but it had a technical problem that I couldn't live with so I felt compelled to return it . If you are interested in the E6 check out the reviews on the following websites; HDTV Test, Trusted Reviews and CNET (for the L42E6B) and AVForums has a review of the L50E6B. The consensus is that the E6B is a giant leap forward for Panasonic LED TV's. I will list a few here;
1. A new user interface called 'My Home Screen'. This allows you to create individual screens which have shortcuts to your favourite channels.
2. A slimmer bezel. The L39E6B has the same overall size as the L37E5B so you can fit a larger screen TV into the same space. The thicker rimmed E5B looked outdated compared to last years offerings from Samsung and LG even though the build quality was better. I actually prefer a silver/grey bezel on TV's as, to my eyes, it looks better when turned off. I also wanted a slimmer bezel than the E5 so when I saw the E6 it was as if Panasonic had read my mind.
3. the E6B uses a different panel (MVA) or screen to the E5B (IPS panel)which gives it better contrast and deeper black levels. However, the IPS will give the E5 better viewing angles.
4.The calibration controls are also more advanced on the E6B so it can be tailored to exactly how you want the picture to look. I had found the absence of a backlight control on the E5(LG, Samsung, Toshiba all included this function on their TV's from last year) made it tricky to make adjustments. Panasonic have added a backlight control to the E6.
5.No auto-dimming problem on E6B. When I had the E5 I found that it would darken itself during already dark scenes. This was an unfixable problem and not controlled by the CATS function. Apparently the 'True Cinema' picture preset helps with this issue but for me it was too annoying so this was the main reason I returned it. Which? picked up on this fault and gave it a low rating because of it.
It actually states a lot of this on the Richer Sounds website so I'm not sure who you were talking to?! It can be very hit and miss with the advice you get in shops.
All new TV's on sale this time of year will cost an arm and a leg.

In reply to an earlier post on 9 Apr 2013 12:01:22 BDT
Tony says:
..hi, I read this in a review..anyone used the TV and see the situation described below? "Asking the..."..

Like most LED TVs these days, the TXL42E6B partakes in some auto-dimming across all its picture presets when fed with full-screen video black signal. Instead of switching the LEDs off completely, Panasonic's engineers have chosen to dim the backlight down to near-black (measured luminance level was 0.008 cd/m2), presumably to minimise any jarring effect that viewers may experience. Asking the TV to display even the smallest amount of non-black content (for example a pause icon) will defeat the auto-dimming, at which point blacks will return to its native level of 0.0268 cd/m2

Posted on 16 Apr 2013 21:48:16 BDT
baxy85 says:
Hi, thanks for putting up a good review. It's nice to read the opinion of someone who actually knows what they're talking about. I just have one question for you. I am seriously interested in buying the 39e6 as it ticks all the boxes, the only concern I have is that i will be using it heavily as a screen for my xbox 360, and have read on trustedreviews.com that it has a rather high input lag of 60ms. As you are using the 39e6 as a monitor for you pc and consoles have you noticed any real world problems with input lag? Thanks.

Posted on 17 Apr 2013 15:38:53 BDT
L J Kelly says:
This guy must know what he's talking about if he has a pioneer plasma (kuros) - perhaps the best make of tv in existence! Panasonic bought this tech. off them. If input lag is 60ms (in gaming mode, I presume) then that is rather a big bugbear, however. I'm waiting for the Sony W900, which looks amazing, but is more costly.

In reply to an earlier post on 17 Apr 2013 16:17:33 BDT
Tony says:
I read this on a HDTVTest review of 42":

Like most LED TVs these days, the TXL42E6B partakes in some auto-dimming across all its picture presets when fed with full-screen video black signal. Instead of switching the LEDs off completely, Panasonic's engineers have chosen to dim the backlight down to near-black (measured luminance level was 0.008 cd/m2), presumably to minimise any jarring effect that viewers may experience. Asking the TV to display even the smallest amount of non-black content (for example a pause icon) will defeat the auto-dimming, at which point blacks will return to its native level of 0.0268 cd/m2.

What do you thing about? Is it fastidious?? It happens only with logos and text, or also with normal visions?

In reply to an earlier post on 10 Jan 2014 00:22:15 GMT
Joe says:
i too am veing put off by this input lag that ive read about. how bad is 60ms ? i dont have any reference, all i know is it was mentioned to be bad and immediately made me second guess purchasing.
‹ Previous 1 Next ›