Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Review

Sascha Ring pitches up in Apparat guise with a wonderful new album.
'The Devil's Walk' finds him exploring new sonic territory without
compromising his electronic dance credentials. He would seem to have
taken time out to reflect on the nature of his muse and returns
with music possessed of a gentler and more soulful calibre than he
has delivered before. The ten tracks in this collection are high on
reflection and emotion. It is the finest work he has so-far produced.

If the haunting composition 'Goodbye' were the only one at our disposal
I would be satisfied. The eerie presence of Austrian singer Anja Plaschg,
aka Soap & Skin, (please, please do listen to her 2009 album 'Lovetune
For Vacuum'!) made the hair stand up on the back of my neck. The dark
arrangement moves forward at the pace of a heartbeat; Ms Plaschg's
world-weary vocal barely stirring the air around it. A desolate joy!

It's not all about shadows and scratchings in a closed tomb however.
Once 'Song Of Los' gets its skates on we are transported to a land
of light and uplifting beauty where even dance is possible. Mr Ring,
both here and elsewhere has a truly lovely voice. Sweet, sweet melancholy.

The faltering rhythm of 'Candil De La Calle' is another highlight. The
dream-like ambience is shot through with luminous synth chords and a simple
but affecting octave-spaced two-part harmony. A song to warm the blood.
'Escape', too, glimmers like a lone candle in a window guiding us safely home.
The touching melody, evocative lyrics and sublime string setting conveys
one of the loveliest inventions I have heard this year. A song to cherish!
Not far behind it 'The Soft Voices Die' (those glorious strings again!)
touches a nerve deep in the human spirit and generates a palpable sense of hope.
'Ash/Black Veil' explores a somewhat different sonic landscape; all skittering
percussion, moody piano and a plaintive high-flung vocal from Mr Ring on top form.
Final track 'Your House Is My World' is a touching hymn for a godless world.

(The download edition contains an extra track, 'Ladies', which sets another
ethereal vocal afloat on a sea of turbulent percussion, grumbling bass and
affectionate nods and winks to prog-rock. A worthy addition if MP3's are your thing!)

'The Devil's Walk', with its many wonders, is an album to pass by at your peril!

33 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like this:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Please write at least one word
You must purchase at least one item from Amazon to post a comment
A problem occurred while submitting your comment. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading the comments at the moment. Please try again later.

Product Details

4.1 out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
£9.55+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime