Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now flip flip flip Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Review

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 7 July 2012
A skilful interpreter of standards, Teddi King (1929-1977) honed her vocal craft in small clubs etc. during the Fifties and even though she embraced both the jazz and pop worlds, the singer failed to gain the wider recognition she really deserved. Therefore, her recording career proved to be somewhat sparse.

Avid's series of jazz-related material from the past now includes four of Teddi's albums on this excellent two-disc set from the period 1953-1957; the first being Coral's ALL THE KING'S SONGS (1953) which is a collection dedicated to Teddi's favourite male singers via their songs and Dick Haymes (THAT'S FOR ME) Billy Eckstine (COTTAGE FOR SALE) and, of course, Sinatra (THIS LOVE OF MINE) are amongst her dozen choices with orchestral direction shared by Lew Douglas and Johnny Richards.

Three RCA albums BIDIN' MY TIME (1955), TO YOU FROM TEDDI KING (1956) and A GIRL AND HER SONGS (1957) form the collection's mainstay with orchestral accompaniment provided by Al Cohn and George Siravo. Teddi's repertoire ranges from the familiar THAT OLD FEELING, INDIAN SUMMER and THE WAY YOU LOOK TONIGHT to more esoteric selections like WHERE HAVE YOU BEEN? AFTER ALL IT'S SPRING and CHICKEN TODAY AND FEATHERS TOMORROW. As a bonus, there are six songs extracted from the 10 inch eight-track Storyville album MISS TEDDI KING (1954) on which the singer had minimal accompaniment via Jimmy Jones (piano), Jo Jones (drums), Milt Hinton (bass) and Ruby Braff (trumpet) for intimate renderings of LOVE IS HERE TO STAY and IT'S THE TALK OF THE TOWN.

Teddi's clear expressive vocal style needed no vocal gymnastics to succeed with her relaxed intimacy and sincerity utilised to stunning effect throughout; whether with full orchestral accompaniment or small group setting. This compilation will therefore provide a treat for anyone interested in classy Fifties girl singers and prove to be an impressive addition to any collection, with Avid's excellent remastered sound allied to the usual helpful habit of providing the original album graphics and sleeve notes.
3 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like this:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Product Details

5.0 out of 5 stars
£8.18+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime