Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Review

on 28 July 2011
As I didn't own anything by The Sensational Alex Harvey Band, this new 2CD on Spectrum struck me as the perfect introduction - especially at such a low price. The 35 track set covers his entire career and includes a number of rarities along with detailed sleeve notes, a couple of archive photographs, and images of original vinyl discs and picture sleeves.

CD1 is made up solely of recordings by The Sensational Alex Harvey Band, including the UK Top 20 hits `Delilah' (recorded live at Hammersmith Odeon), `Boston Tea Party'. The remaining tracks are a mixture of covers (Framed, Giddy Up A Ding Dong, Next, School's Out, Crazy Horses, King Kong) and original material - all dating from 1972-77.

CD2 features further band recordings from this period, again including a number of covers such as `I Just Want To Make Love To You', `Tomorrow Belongs To Me' and `Cheek To Cheek'. The BBC archives are exploited with the inclusion of Old Grey Whistle Test performances from 1973 of `The Faith Healer', `Next', `Delilah' and `Give My Compliments To The Chef'. An added bonus is the Top Of The Pops recording of `Boston Tea Party'.

The second disc also includes tracks from earlier in Alex's career. A version of The Isley Brothers' `Shout' is credited to Alex Harvey And His Soul Band and is followed by an early recording of `Framed'. `Agent Oo Soul' (which features Steve Winwood on piano) and `Roman Wall Blues' are credited simply to Alex Harvey, dating from 1965 and 1969 respectively, while `Hair' and a cover of The Beatles' `Birthday' are from "`Hair' Rave Up" and credited to Alex Harvey & The Hair Musical Pit Band. The set closes with the marvellously titled `There's No Lights On The Christmas Tree Mother, They're Burning Big Louie Tonight'.

Overall this is a cracking 2CD set - perfect for anyone like me who has only recently heard Alex, but with enough rarities for committed fans too.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like this:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Please write at least one word
You must purchase at least one item from Amazon to post a comment
A problem occurred while submitting your comment. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading the comments at the moment. Please try again later.

Product Details

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 stars
£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime