Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Review

on May 27, 2006
Howling Bells. This eponymous debut album is a cracker in my opinion. Superb musicianship, excellent vocals, and a set of very good songs. Nice guitar licks, and definitely spot-on hooks in the lyrics... most notably the chorus of Wishing Stone.

Sometimes Juanita sounds reminiscent of Grace Slick, sometimes a touch Sonja Kristina-ish, sometimes the band makes me think 'Fairport Convention' no matter, she has one helluva good voice, which can swing from the husky, breathy style to gentle melody and raw power.

This CD has really grabbed me, nicely written tunes - but sadly I don't see any of them charting as singles, they're just too good for the 'Top 40'. The album does however deserve to do well in the Albums Chart.

~~~~~ 'nuff said, I think!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like so:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Product Details

4.5 out of 5 stars