Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Review

on 11 August 2011
The Saint-Saens Piano Concertos are consistently engaging pieces that deserve to be heard more often. Full of wit, surprises, and not without drama either. They make great items both for concerts and on CDs. This recording, despite all the praise, is a bit disappointing. Hough is consistently fast and exciting, but lacks the sparkle, wit and charm that's essential for this music. The finale of No. 5, for example, is pounded out rather insensitively compared to the swagger of Jean-Philippe Collard or Pascal Roge. These two remain the top choices for these pieces. They play with more colour, sparkle and imagination than Hough, and they're much cheaper too. On top of that, Oramo's orchestral accompaniment for Hough pales next to Previn (for Collard) and Dutoit (for Roge).

This recording is by no means bad, but I really can't see any reason for buying it given that the above alternatives are both better and cheaper.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like this:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Product Details

4.7 out of 5 stars
£27.81+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime