Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Review

on 30 August 2010
Some years ago I bought Mariss Jansons' EMI recording of the two Svendsen symphonies. To quote reviewer Scott Morisson: "And, boy, was I pleased with what I heard". When this box set came available at bargain price at JPC, CPO's internet store, (GBP 8.15) I wasted little time in ordering it. I was most impressed with his rhapsodies and symphonic poems which are based on melancholy Norwegian folk melodies. The 'Andante Funèbre' and a piece for string orchestra 'Ifjol Gjaett' e Gjeitinn' are of such spine tingling beauty that it is very hard to understand that they are not heard more frequently. Perhaps André Rieu could include them in one of his shows and introduce them to the public at large. I would recommend this set to those who love melodious, warmly arranged, romantic orchestral music. To quote Mr Morisson again: They will not be disappointed.
8 people found this helpful
|11 Comment|Report abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like this:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Product Details

4.7 out of 5 stars
£23.16+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime