Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Review

on 14 June 2009
Firstly I really like that album so sorry if I sound somewhat sicophantic!
This is the second album of Cynic coming after their recent reunion, a band generally described as progressive metal which I guess is a rather good description although it relinquishes to mention so much of the depths of this band. It would be easy to not bother checking this out thinking "Oh progressive metal, more showing off from dream theater clones" but dont let that be the case. This album is acutely musical, warm and textured. There is no showing off here!
Here is a breakdown of the tracks:

01. Nunc Fluens - This isa complex soundscape that develops rhythmically. Nicly put together and introduces alot about the ablum in a fairly brief way and takes us to the start of the album proper with aplomb.

02. The Space for This - Starting with a soft guitar part this quickly develops into an exciting piece of music. The musicianship is excellent and the use of varied textures marked here with the regular return of the guitar part.

03. Evolutionary Sleeper - This is for me the standout track. I absolutly love the complexity of the guitar and rhythm section put against the tend and beautiful melody of the evolutionary sleeper. The solo is inspired, this really showcases the bands ability to move from energetic to delecate.

04. Integral Birth - This has a deffinate lilt of the classical composition around it. Which is interesting because the lyrical ideas are deffinately very philisophical in their inception. The hand over to the next song is very striking here with Integral Birth fading and as the volume rises from this fall the next track ensues.

05. The Unknown Guest - Another cleverly textured and contrasting track. Interesting lyrical content, not all of it english! (although I am not sure which language it is)

06. Adam's Murmur - I really like the drumming here, subtle and well articulated. This is a very well fashioned song mixing elements of many genres, from complex polyrhythms of jazz and harmonic movement of classical music with of course element of metal.

07. King of Those Who Know - This is the longest track on the album. This starts with a very contrasting section, a guitar and what seems to be female voices. This swiftly moves into a clever interplay between the harsh growly vocals and the soft sound of Masvidals vocals. This is one of the best songs on the album, it really draws you along with it and moves on to a far more jazzy and keyboard influanced ending. Excellent music IMHO.

08. Nunc Stans - The last track of the album and is a seemingly bleak look at the nature of existance (vacuous rockers they aint!) A really good end to this album. Very much reflective.

Many people have raised the point that this album only lasts around 35 minutes. This is indeed not long for an album but considering the quality of the music and the complexity, depth and production values I think this album can still be considered excellent. I hope to see more albums from this versitile and original band.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like this:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Product Details

4.6 out of 5 stars
£11.90+ £1.26 shipping