Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Review

#1 HALL OF FAMETOP 50 REVIEWERon 30 July 2013
This is an excellent disc of Bach's A minor and E major concertos for violin and two transcriptions of harpsichord concertos. They are all terrific works, wonderfully played here by Mullova, Dantone and Accademia Bizantina.

The two transcriptions are often played as violin concertos: BWV1053 as here for solo violin and BWV1060 for two violins or, more commonly, for violin and oboe. Here it is transcribed for violin and harpsichord and is the one slightly weaker aspect of the disc, I think. The transcription is excellent and Mullova and Dantone play beautifully, but the imbalance in sound between the violin and harpsichord makes some of the call-and-response passages especially seem a little thin. Nonetheless, it's a terrifically enjoyable work whatever it's played on and I don't want to carp too much.

The performances are simply terrific throughout from soloists and orchestra. Mullova has a direct, slightly sinewy approach and remarkable precision which, as others have said, is rather different from that in Rachel Podger's excellent recordings. I love both, and here I really enjoy the insistent pulse and quite brisk tempi of the outer movements and the quite remarkable depth and almost stillness at times in the slower central movements. Mullova's technique is brilliant so that the whole thing sounds effortlessly natural and the ensemble are just as good, being supple and responsive throughout, and there is real intellectual weight underpinning the often foot-tappingly enjoyable music. It's a lovely programme.

I already had several well-loved recordings of all these works by some great performers including Rachel Podger, Andrew Manze, Simon Standage and others. This stands very well among them and even if you are in a similar position I would warmly recommend this - it's an exceptionally good disc which will complement your others very well and give pleasure for years to come.

(I would also very warmly recommend Viktoria Mullova's other Bach recordings:
The Solo Paritas and Sonatas Bach: 6 Sonatas & Partitas
and the accompanied Sonatas (with Dantone again) Bach - Violin Sonatas
Both are simply fantastic.)
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like this:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Product Details

4.7 out of 5 stars
£15.40+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime