Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now flip flip flip Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Review

VINE VOICEon 10 July 2010
I quite agree with the other reviewer of this CD; it is excellent and well-worth buying. The mid-1990s Naxos Beethoven symphony cycle is far ahead of much of the competition. I particularly like the chamber orchestra like approach, thus removing some of the needless "weight" from these works that features on many "default" recordings.

The Hungarian orchestra has been augmented for this recording to a size a little larger than that suitable for, say, Haydn, and has a particularly strong woodwind section.

This is an immaculate performance in spectacular sound, with a really good choir and soloists. Perhaps the reading is a little middle-of-the-road, compared to those performances emphasizing the "spiritual" approach to Beethoven (like Furtwangler & Bernstein), but that's fine for me. A good choice, especially at the prices you often see this CD for!
10 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like this:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Product Details

4.1 out of 5 stars
£4.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime