Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Review

This group, from Birmingham in England, was formed in 1965 and proved to be very successful for a few years, scoring ten UK hits between 1967 and 1972, seven of which made the top ten with two others only just missing. Problems within the group caused it to disband, but three of its members regrouped to form the Electric Light Orchestra, though this group soon hit problems and about half its members split to form Wizzard. The Move were, in some ways, a typical late sixties rock group (albeit with a distinctive identity), very far removed from the glam-rock of Wizzard or the unique sound of ELO.
This compilation focuses exclusively on the music of the Move up to 1970 (when they were subsidiaries of the Decca label), though if you look up Roy Wood, you'll find other compilations that span the Move, Wizzard and Roy Wood solo tracks, perhaps including early ELO as well.
It took a couple of years from formation for the Move to get a chart record but they made up for lost time by having three top five UK hits in 1967, these being Night of fear, I can hear the grass grow and Flowers in the rain, the last-named being the first record ever played on BBC Radio 1, which was by far the most influential radio station in the country for many years. Another top five hit, Fie brigade, followed in early 1968. Their next hit, Blackberry way, topped the UK charts at the end of 1968. The five hits they had in 1967 and 1968 are the ones they are best remembered for, but they continued to make great music.
The Move never again made the UK top five, but they twice peaked at seven (Brontosaurus, California man) and had two other major hits (Curly, Tonight) that just missed the top ten. Chinatown was less successful, stalling outside the top twenty.
This compilation contains their first seven UK hits. The last three (Tonight, Chinatown, California man) were recorded for a different record label (Harvest) in 1971 and 1972 but they are, in any case, of less importance than the first seven. You also get their cover of Higher and higher (Jackie Wilson) and some interesting but obscure original songs.
If you enjoy late sixties rock music, you should definitely listen to the Move.
22 Comments| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like this:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Please write at least one word
You must purchase at least one item from Amazon to post a comment
A problem occurred while submitting your comment. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading the comments at the moment. Please try again later.

Product Details

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star