Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit
Customer Review

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!, 13 April 2011
This review is from: Killing Bono (Paperback)
I had heard there was a film called 'Killing Bono' out, but knew nothing about it. Then, while waiting for my flight from Heathrow, I saw this book on the shelves of a bookshop. With time to kill, I flicked through a few pages.
I was hooked.
The style was intelligent, poignant and accessible. The story compelling.
I bought the book there and then; and loved reading each word.

The story of a boy, then man pursuing his dreams of fame and fortune. About the bond and tension between brothers. About lifetime friendships. About disappointments and perseverance. About family loyalty and love. About growing up.
All this while author Neil McCormick's event-filled life unfurls.
Written with wit and wisdom, this book is for anyone who has an interest in the music business, not only for fans of Bono and U2!

The media is full of stories about the ones who are fortunate to have 'made it'; we hear very little about the ones whose dreams do not come true - not in the way they intended anyway! With this book, we get a no-holds-barred account of someone trying to make-it; while his friend becomes the biggest rock star in the world.

It's a wonderful read - the highs and lows are so evocative, each disappointment feels like a body blow to the reader. The humour won't leave you low for long though, and events move at a pace to the next optimistic interlude...

I cannot recommend this book highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Be the first person to comment on this review.

[Add comment]
Post a comment
To insert a product link use the format: [[ASIN:ASIN product-title]] (What's this?)
Amazon will display this name with all your submissions, including reviews and discussion posts. (Learn more)
Name:
Badge:
This badge will be assigned to you and will appear along with your name.
There was an error. Please try again.
Please see the full guidelines here.

Official Comment

As a representative of this product you can post one Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
The following name and badge will be shown with this comment:
 (edit name)
After clicking on the Post button you will be asked to create your public name, which will be shown with all your contributions.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.  Learn more
Otherwise, you can still post a regular comment on this review.

Is this your product?

If you are the author, artist, manufacturer or an official representative of this product, you can post an Official Comment on this review. It will appear immediately below the review wherever it is displayed.   Learn more
 
System timed out

We were unable to verify whether you represent the product. Please try again later, or retry now. Otherwise you can post a regular comment.

Since you previously posted an Official Comment, this comment will appear in the comment section below. You also have the option to edit your Official Comment.   Learn more
The maximum number of Official Comments have been posted. This comment will appear in the comment section below.   Learn more
Prompts for sign-in
  [Cancel]


Review Details

Item

Reviewer


Location: UK

Top Reviewer Ranking: 1,028,046