Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Review

on 4 December 2010
Nobody is being misled here; this album does indeed contain all of Jay-Z's biggest hits. Unfortunately, 'greatest hits' doesn't always mean 'greatest songs', and that's why I can't recommend this too heartily. There's some fantastic tracks here, no doubt; '99 Problems' and 'Big Pimpin' have phenomenal beats courtesy of Rick Rubin and Timbaland, and Jay is spitting fire over them, and the likes of 'Izzo (H.O.V.A)' and 'Empire State Of Mind' are classics in their own right as well.

But this record just does not contain the best of Jay either musically or lyrically; there's nothing from Reasonable Doubt, arguably his best album - I'd argue that 'Can I Live', 'Can't Knock The Hustle' and 'D'Evils' are better than anything on here, for a start, especially lyrically where Jay is incredibly poetic rapping tales of coming up hustling on the streets. The Blueprint is barely represented either, when tracks like the emotional 'Song Cry' and the Nas-killing 'Takeover' represent jigga at his absolute best.

Obviously, it's a natural drawback for this sort of compilation that it's going to omit stuff, but when the drab R'n'B-lite songs such as 'Run This Town' and '03 Bonnie And Clyde' are making the cut, and completely classic tracks from his back catalogue are missing out it renders this compilation both incomplete and unrepresentative.

Sometimes you can recommend Greatest Hits albums as an introduction to the artist, but this doesn't even serve that purpose, as it just doesn't paint a proper picture of who Jay-Z is. For every radio hit on Jay's albums there's always three or four brilliant album tracks, with great sampling, great flow and great lyrics. At best, this is a good album for people who only like commercial music that's easy to consume and full of hooks. Otherwise, The Blueprint is a far better album both in content and cohesion, as is Reasonable Doubt and The Black Album, so buy one of those instead and make your way into Jay's catalogue that way.
33 Comments| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse| Permalink
What's this?

What are product links?

In the text of your review, you can link directly to any product offered on Amazon.com. To insert a product link, follow these steps:
1. Find the product you want to reference on Amazon.com
2. Copy the web address of the product
3. Click Insert product link
4. Paste the web address in the box
5. Click Select
6. Selecting the item displayed will insert text that looks like this: [[ASIN:014312854XHamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)]]
7. When your review is displayed on Amazon.com, this text will be transformed into a hyperlink, like this:Hamlet (The Pelican Shakespeare)

You are limited to 10 product links in your review, and your link text may not be longer than 256 characters.

Please write at least one word
You must purchase at least one item from Amazon to post a comment
A problem occurred while submitting your comment. Please try again later.

There was a problem loading the comments at the moment. Please try again later.

Product Details

4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5 stars
£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime