Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 July 2017
An interesting book, laying out the research and debates around a very important topic. However, it suffers from being overly academic, where the content of nearly every chapter could be presented in a much simpler language and form. It reads like a research paper or academic thesis with numerous cross referencing to research in this field. At the same time it is repetitive, basic nuggets are repeated for no greater gain in understanding or elucidation.
In short it could have been better edited and organised so that the theoretical explanations and mathematics appeared in appendices and additional notes. Unfortunately, because of these shortcomings it is unlikely to get the wide readership that the subject matter deserves.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2017
This book is one of the best books I've ever read. Not just on this topic but as a whole. Outstanding
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2017
A clear, compelling review of the state of the art, potential pitfalls and ways of approaching the immensely difficult task of maximising the chance that we'll all enjoy the arrival of a superintelligence. An important book showcasing the work we collectively need to do BEFORE the fact. Given the enormity of what will likely be a one-time event, this is the position against which anyone involved in the development of AI must justify their approach, whether or not they are bound by the Official Secrets Act.

The one area in which I feel Nick Bostrom's sense of balance wavers is in extrapolating humanity's galactic endowment into an unlimited and eternal capture of the universe's bounty. As Robert Zubrin lays out in his book Entering Space: Creating a Space-Faring Civilization, it is highly unlikely that there are no interstellar species in the Milky Way: if/when we (or our AI offspring!) develop that far we will most likely join a club.

The abolition of sadness, a recent novella by Walter Balerno is a tightly drawn, focused sci fi/whodunit showcasing exactly Nick Bostrom's point. Once you start it pulls you in and down, as characters develop and certainties melt: when the end comes the end has already happened...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2017
Fascinating book. Not an easy read though.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2017
Well worth a read if you work in cloud and AI based computing. Gives an in-depth history and some great detail on what could be next.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2017
This fascinating book, although a bit long winded at times, is definitely worth sticking through. Nick Bostrom explores questions surrounding the emergence of strong AI in so much depth one wonders if he has spent any time thinking about anything else!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2017
Great Book, one I will likely refer to, for years to come.
Unfortunately, this will likely have to be in e-Book format as the binding is amongst the worst I have seen.

The book was falling apart before I even begun reading it! Quite disappointing
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2017
A fantastic read and also a lovely cover design.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2017
Great read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2017
Best book ever. It's so intense I love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)