Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
8
4.1 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 11 August 2014
Engineers have taken their usual ethereal washes of sound and rhythm and brought in what appears to me to be a bit of 80's electro to add some zing. I think that all in all the album really works. The opener is a bit like Simple Minds but with Engineers usual wistful harmonies over the top. In fact there is an almost 80's electronic feel to the whole album. I'm thinking China Crisis, OMD, Tears For Fears, the Cure? as I listen to it. Nagging, insistent beats, toe tapping moments, beautiful melodies, yes this album definitely grows on you. Sure there is nothing on here remarkably daring or mould breaking for the band but this is an album that doesn't over stay its welcome at 41 minutes or so and deserves your full attention.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 31 August 2014
4 stars this time. Not as good as 'In Praise of More'.

I lay this reason at the feet of the line-up change. Sure, the production and songwriting hasn't suffered - although it doesn't QUITE seem to swish and wash like it did (sorry, Ulrich) - but the chemistry of a line-up should never be underestimated - and I miss Simon's voice in the mix. A bit like when the Beatles lost Ringo due to illness - they were still great, but something intangible was missing...

Whatever, that's a bit of a grandiose comparison! The point is, it doesn't matter what the reason, a band should be judged on the merits of the output/work, not what happens behind the scenes - however interesting that may be. And this doesn't FEEL as good as previous outings.

There, I said it.

It's still very, very good.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2014
A brilliant record , gets better with each listen
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2014
This latest album from this great band is more dreamy and laid back than their earlier albums, but all the better for it. Put it on late at night, dim the lights and have a large nightcap. Warms your insides. I love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2014
Always Returning is the fourth studio album from post-rock shoegaze outfit 'Engineers'.

This time around, good friend and complimentary producer Ulrich Schnauss takes a full position within the band's make up and the album is all the better for it.

Those who still revel in this shoegaze genre (which has admittedly taken a step back in the last decade) will without doubt enjoy what is much of the same from a very familiar band. I don't believe their sound has changed much at all in the last ten years. But perhaps the electronic infusion of Ulrich may be what's needed to give the group a fresher and more dynamic sound.

Engineers have always given me an ethereal place to slip into when I need to detach; there are a few tracks here that take me back to this place very effectively. But coming in at just 40 minutes - it's by no means their best - and Ulrich's influence on tracks like 'Innsbruck' seems few and far between. A welcome addition to their collection which probably sits a little too comfortably in it.

Disc 2's Intrumental version works very well in some and not so in others - but its a smart move and highlights the production talent.

Listen to: 'Innsbruck', 'It Rings So True', 'Always Returning'
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2014
Truly gets better and better with each listen. Incredible record.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2016
Great album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2014
Don't believe the hype.
They need a proper lead vocalist.
They need someone who can write songs,
Dalek i did all this in the late 70's/early 80's.
Can't believe how rubbish this album is.
(sorry fan's of the band)
22 Comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.99
£6.90

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)