Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
21
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 October 2015
Reads like one of those war comics of the 50s and 60s where the hero can do no wrong and survives perfectly through every crisis. The way it is written, it doesn't have the ring of reality about it. One of the very few books I have not bothered to finish. I was interested to see the episode that involved the Erebus as my father-in-law served on it in that theatre of war.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2014
Unusually, set on a tank landing craft, this is another great naval war story from the author of Thunder at Dawn and Ship of Force. Slightly different in style, in that the story progresses from both British and German viewpoints until the characters are brought together on the morning of D-Day. Recommended for avid readers of Naval Fiction.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2013
One of eleven books of Navel Fiction in my possession by Alan Evans covering the First and Second World Wars. They were published between the mid seventies and mid nineties. They were all of uniformly high standard. I read them when they were first published and just re-read them. I would recomend them to anyone who enjoys well written war fiction.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2015
The descriptions of the battles and n board script was amazing. The characters on board were great. I loved this book and look forward to reading the series of his books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2015
A very detailed account of life on an LCT. Interesting perspective of switching the viewpoint to the German gunners. Couldn't put it down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2015
This is a really fine book, capturing the spirit and deadly adventures of the War. I could not praise it too highly. A 'must read'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2016
A bit more action in this one, intriguing at times, with some nail biting bits and a happy end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2014
I enjoyed every page I read right to the very end. A great tale. Would recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2014
Excellent reading will buy more of this authors work
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2015
Another alan Evans classic. A new twist on d day.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Need customer service? Click here