Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
30
SHAKEDOWN 3
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£10.47+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 8 June 2016
Initial review - 8 June 2016. Arrived very quickly but the CDs are a little hard to get out of the case.

Edit - August 2017. Still listening to this CD quite a lot and I am still in love with it. My favourite CD is 'Poolside' as it's really relaxing, especially towards the end of the mix. I have Freemasons (feat. Emma Rohan) - Sea Of Fire as a ringtone, and it has NOT left my phone since I put it on (a few years ago). I've also gone and bought the extended mixes to my favourite tracks off Shakedown 3 via iTunes
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 July 2017
perfect and speedy delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 August 2014
I have Shakedown 1 & 2 and they have never left my car, they are that good even after 5 years. Shakedown 3 is at least as good if not better. Not quite as many 'hits' on it maybe but the new material is stunning. Bailey Tzuke's vocal on 'The Fall' is to die for, I've never heard of Emma Rohan before but her two songs are amazing. Then there's 'Nothing To Lose' and 'True Love Survivor' which both sound like smash hits, a song from Bailey's mum Judie which is divine and Katherine Ellis comes up trumps with 'Tears' and the cinematic 'Cold Light Of Day'. And Amanda Wilson, well she goes with Freemasons like strawberries and cream, it is just the sweetest most succulent combination. Their London Grammar remix knocks the spots off the original and that Hurts remix is epic. Somebody needs to give Freemasons some kind of award for music like this that's so well produced, so great to listen to. 3 CDs of musical bliss, can't recommend highly enough.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 August 2014
After a very quiet period, Freemasons started to warm up with excellent remix work (usually their strongest point). In particular, their remix of London Grammar's Nightcall - featured here - was a triumph. It transformed the dynamics of the track, pushing up the urgency for all it's worth and sounding like it was channelling the Todd Terry remix of 'Missing' by Everything But The Girl.

The first two of three discs on Shakedown 3 feature a few more of their remixes for other artists, all excellent (Hurts, in particular). But most of the tracks are alternative versions of their own previous hits or of the original tracks feature on disc 3. This seems a strange decision and I would have preferred the third disc to have been released on its own. It makes sense from a marketing perspective to release the 3 discs but there is a definite feeling of overkill.

It's that third disc that really stands out and makes this CD collection worth purchasing. The majestic Wynter Gordon collaboration 'Believer' sounds better than ever in it's polished up 2014 version - easily the strongest lyrically and with an emphatic momentum that powers it towards its conclusion. Another highlight is the diva melodrama of 'Tears' (featuring the wonderful Katherine Ellis). That melancholy, minor chord chorus is a lovely contrast to the punchy bassline and stabbing synths. There are three excellent but mellower dance tracks: 'True Love Survivor', 'In The Blue' and 'The Fall' (this last track features haunting vocals from long time collaborator Baily Tzuke and has a touchingly reassuring chorus - "We're not lost, just in the dark" ). Most immediate earworm is the instantly appealing 'Walk The Mile', which brilliantly showcases the Freemasons ability to inject energy and synth hooks into a track. Plus it features some hugely distorted vocals, which is always a winner in my book. 'The Bottle' pulls a similar trick.

Freemasons have said that they want to make dance music that works in clubs but can also be enjoyed at home. With Shakedown 3, they largely deliver on that premise. Next time I'd like them to release 'Shakedown 4' with their remixes only and have the confidence / record company backing to release their original material separately in it's own right and slimmed down to their very best material.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 August 2014
Like other reviewers here I have bought and played to death Shakedown 1 and 2, plus various other EPs, singles and booty mixes and loved every single track.
Unlike other reviewers I am somewhat unimpressed by this offering. Most of the songs I find bland and uninspiring and the guys seem to have gone from making their work stand out head and shoulders above the crowd to being just one of the crowd.

This body of work is quite, quite different to Shakedown 1 and 2 so if you're not sure, listen before you buy.

However, music is subjective and obviously this review is based upon my preferences. I loved the non-stop make-me-want-to-get-up-and-dance of 1 & 2; 3 just makes me want to turn it off and watch TV.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 January 2015
not as good as the 2 previous CDs.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 September 2014
This album kind of surprised me in a positive way. The idea of having more cooled Down tunes on disc 1 and the nightclub tunes on disc 2 Works out fine. The songs are mixed in a smooth and a sassy way which gives me great mood and a desire to Dance!! And in addition, you get an unmixed disc 3 with all the Freemasons produced tracks and more. The only thing "negative" to say is that the songs CAN seem a bit monotonic and alike, but still, the standout tracks are so good that this shouldn`t really be a problem. You know what you`re going to get when you listen to Freemasons, and that`s good regarding the horrible EDM - tracks dominating the Dance Charts nowadays. Disc 1 is Perfect for the early phase of a pre-party and Disc 2 is Perfect for the last drinks before you hit the Clubs,

Standout tracks: MANY, but; Tears, Wonderful Life (and the mixing between), Million dollar bill, Nightcall Intoxicated, Cheating ++
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 August 2014
Amazing album, it's completely packed with such a high quality of tracks, a lot of new ones that I've never heard. They've included the absolutely fantastic Whitney track Million Dollar Bill too. What's not to love about The Freemasons?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 August 2014
Has everything i love about Freemasons and so much more.Best Dance Album of 2014
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 October 2014
As someone who considers certain Freemasons' tracks and remixes as works of absolute genius, I eagerly awaited the release of Shakedown 3. I was not disappointed and, taken as a whole, I think it is even better than their other CD collections. My only criticism is that, with three disks in the collection, there are one or two weaker tracks. Nevertheless, I have been playing it constantly for a month and loving it more each time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here