Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 19 July 2017
Wow.. back 2 1985.. Still sounds raw and fresh in 2017..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2017
This was the first of 6 expanded reissues by Edsel and they did a really good job with them by including so much bonus material that had previously only existed on 7" vinyl for about 5 minutes back in the day, BBC sessions, the famous "Acoustic EP" and much much more besides.
A very under rated debut from one of the great bands at the time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
#1 HALL OF FAMEon 18 June 2006
The Jesus & Mary Chain's debut album, now re-released in re-mastered form with former bonus track `Some Candy Talking' removed, remains their definitive album and their greatest achievement. Everything that followed didn't quite measure up, though if you have all the albums and compilations, you can discover later joys such as `Here Comes Alice', `Sidewalking', `Sometimes Always', `Cracking Up' & `Heat' (the latter bizarrely turning up in an advert and was later retitled `Teenage Lust' in relation to an MC5 song and a Larry Clark book of photographs).

The Mary Chain just happened rumour has it their demos were on a tape which had Syd Barrett on one side and them on the other, Bobby Gillespie (The Wake) listened to it and got Alan McGee involved and some Malcolm McClaren-style marketing later, they were the next controversial band. The Reid brothers wrote the material and were joined by Douglas Hart (bass) and Gillespie (Moe Tucker-style drumming), and with this album set the template for many bands over the following years - The House of Love, Ultra Vivid Scene, Primal Scream (who would cover `Darklands' and have Reid sing on `Evil Heat'), The Stone Roses, Ride, The Brian Jonestown Massacre, Teenage Fanclub, The Vaselines, My Bloody Valentine, The Heart Throbs, Spacemen 3, Moose, Curve, Chapterhouse, Slowdive, The Boo Radleys, Brakes (who covered `Sometimes Always'), the Black Rebel Motorycle Club, The Kills, Singapore Sling & AR Kane. Predictably some of these acts would surpass the Mary Chain, but this album is key and as significant as `Revolver', `Never Mind the Bollocks', or `Never Mind.' It should be considered along those indisputable and influential classics and I can happily report it still stands up these days.

The Mary Chain nodded to lots of bands who were out of critical favour in the 1980s - the Velvets, The MC5, The Stooges, The Elevators; as well as having songs as perfect as early Beach Boys or prime-Spector. It's all classic, there are no bad songs here, and it seems wrong that this came below Ride's `Nowhere' in the NME 100 Best Albums feature a month or so ago!

Hard to single out tracks, but opener `Just Like Honey', which was memorably featured in the dénouement of `Lost in Translation', is certainly one. `In a Hole' and `Inside Me' sound like the Velvets informed by The Birthday Party and Joy Division, while songs like `Taste of Cindy', `Never Understand', `The Hardest Walk', & `You Trip Me Up' are certainly pop songs. And great ones at that. The gorgeous `Cut Dead' showcases a sweeter, acoustic side and would be the template for `Stoned and Dethroned' several years later. The double-whammy of `The Living End' (whose title was borrowed for the controversial film of the same name) and `Taste the Floor' seems to epitomise the album - waves of feedback, a killer melody and just the right side of rock'n'roll clichés. `Psychocandy' is a great, great album and one of those wild feedback-drenched rock'n'roll albums from the era that need to be owned ; the others being - The Gun Club's `Fire of Love', Spacemen 3's `Sound of Confusion', My Bloody Valentine's `Isn't Anything', Pussy Galore's `Dial M for Mother*ucker', Ultra Vivid Scene's 1988 debut, & Loop's `Heaven's End.' A very welcome reissue from a band that deserve to be remembered, despite the mediocrity of much of their subsequent back-catalogue.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2012
Better sound with this release, louder, maybe compressed?

I would have preferred the lp on its own on disc one, with the b-sides on the bonus disc instead of the demos which I don't really care for

At least Some Candy Talking has been rightfully removed

Glorious
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2006
Well it did, prior to this I was listening to Queen's 'Greatest Hits', 'Genesis' by Genesis, Rush's '2112' and Scorpions 'World Wide Live'. Dear God, what was I thinking. Basically I hadn't heard 'my' music yet, only my friends taste in it, hence the appalling selection above. This all changed when my best friend Lee bought this album and I listened to it in his bedroom. Quite simply it blew me away. This is the moment, a moment all music lovers have, which I can point to and say 'there, it all started there'. I could bore you with a long list of namechecked bands but I won't, suffice to say that this album and this band led me to exciting new places.

The music itself? Well, I understand that it has just been re-issued and re-mastered which says a lot in itself. It still sounds great, perfect pop underneath a torrent of guitar and drums, fresh as ever, youth captured and held. It deserves its standing as one of the finest debut albums of recent times. What else is there to say but buy it!
22 Comments| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2009
It's 1985 and me, a callow youth, vaguely into The Smiths and my elder brother's Jam records, reads about the next big thing in the NME, the Jesus and Mary Chain. Great name, thought I, but will they be any good? Heralded as the second coming of the Sex Pistols (testimony, surely, to how poor the music press are at describing music) and billed as noise merchants and instigators of riots at gigs, I finally got to hear them on Radio One. Paul Weller, of the aforementioned Jam, describing them as "a storm in a teacup." Beneath the coruscating feedback was a definite melody though - and some rather horizontal lyrics about having a hangover. Later that year, the Mary Chain released one of the greatest albums of all time, which stills sounds fresh today and still sounds like nothing on earth. It's decadent music, really - they take the classic bubblegum pop and drumbeat of Phil Spectre and decay it with Stooges style guitars or just noise. My memories of playing this record are of my mum rushing upstairs to ask me what was wrong. "Is that record faulty? Is my washing machine interfering with it?" Personal highlights: Taste of Cindy, It's So Hard and Something's Wrong (with a melody adapted from Wondrous Stories by Yes.)
One regrettable off shoot of the album was the formation of the Mary Chain's very own real tribute band, the Black Rebel Motorcycle Club. At the time though, fans of the band could explore not only Spectre and the Shangri-Las but music from the late 60s, early 70s era that punk had put out of fashion.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2008
Influenced by the guitar sound of The Stooges and The Velvet Undeground-like vocals the Reid brothers made this stunning record and so they set the bar for Noise pop and indie-rock to come. I have yet to come over anything more original and stunning than this from it's genre.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2014
£22+ for this, brand new, vinyl reissue on 180g. Which is filthy as hell, and warped on one side.

Great music, but the quality control on offer here is amongst the worst out there for vinyl.
review image
11 Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2016
Great album, sound is brilliant but disk was covered in marks. Item returned
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2011
Memories came flooding back - the music and the experience of the early gigs. If you're a fan, you've probably got most of this in different places, but it's great to have decent copies of it all. I thoroughly recommend this, the J&MC's finest hours.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Psycho Candy
£6.98
Darklands
£7.58
Damage and Joy
£9.89

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)