Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
From The New World Pt 1 [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£10.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 18 January 2015
Really disappointed with my purchase. I have wanted to own a copy of this series since its original release in Japan. I bought both parts from Amazon and disc 2 of part 1 would not work. Substituted it for another copy and got the exact same fault. Sending both copies back because owning part 2 is pointless without part 1. Please make sure you check all of your discs work properly after purchase!
44 Comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 August 2014
This anime is one of the few must-watches of the last few years. Even if anime generally don't interest you, this one might just outright stun you.
The story plays in a rural post-apocalyptic scifi setting and has strong dystopian motifs. It follows the group of children you see on the cover on their way into the society of their time, but detailing practically anything what happens on that way would already be a spoiler, so I'll leave it at that.

Unfortunately the release is ridden with a giant deal breaker that is neither mentioned on the product page nor on the box itself:
Forced substitles. If you watch the show in Japanese, you get English subtitles forced on you. You can't switch them off.

Forced subtitles are one thing (and might not even be a big deal for people who don't speak Japanese anyway), but deceiving your paying customers to the degree that you omit this completely in any information about this BD is just plainly disgusting. One star for Hanabee and MVM.
At this point I doubt I'll pick up the second part just due to how crippled the UK release is.
22 Comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 August 2014
Do not be fooled by the light-hearted tone of the cover, this anime is dark.

Briefly starting in present day we see people emerging with the powers of telekinesis causing death and destruction. The entire sequence is eerily backed by the 19th century symphony "From the new world". Fast forward 1000 years and the remnants of humanity all have the power of telekinesis. The society now built appears almost utopian with their telekinetic powers having removed the need for most modern technology. Even the concept of murder appears alien to their society.

We are introduced to this future through the eyes of Saki, a 12 year old girl who's powers have only just awakened. Starting at a new school to learn how to control her powers, she is placed in a group with 5 other children. Through these 6 children we quickly realise that their utopian society hides many dark secrets. Children who fall behind in class will suddenly disappear and the remaining children will act as is they never existed. Saki's parents appear to be terrified by Saki's out spoken nature suggesting her own individuality will be considered a threat to society.

In the midst of all the shonen action heavy shows such as Attack on Titan which have come out in recent years, From the New World appears almost out of place and is one of the most thought provoking animes I have watched in years. This perhaps can be explained by the fact the series is adapted from an 800 page self contained science fiction novel (as suppose to the usual source material for an anime which is either a manga or a light novel series).

Visually the series for the most part looks good with some fantastic backgrounds. It's biggest weakness is in the inconsistency of the character animation and some incredibly basic looking cgi boulders. This sometimes works to its advantage however, especially the warped visual style used in several dream/story telling sequences.

The music for the show is brilliantly creepy with some truly disturbed sounding choral music. As referenced at the beginning Dvorak's New World Symphony is used multiple times throughout the series to great effect.

This volume contains the first half of the series which is mostly setting things up for the events to come. I have only watched the original language with subtitles so I am unable to comment on the quality of the English dub

I have seen a few reviews from people stating disc 2 isn't working. I don't know if this is an issue with a specific batch or a general issue the disc has with certain players but I just wanted to confirm my copy worked with no issues using a Samsung BD-E6100 player
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 June 2017
You've heard of a Gainax ending. This series might be the contender for a Gainax series in so far as the synopsis bears little actual relationship to the story. Yes classmates vanish, yes the humans use "magic" but that's about as far as it goes. Yes it does all actually make sense by the time you get to episode 22 or so but until that time you seem to be on a mind bending almost impenitrable journey where not a lot makes much sense starting with a camping trip by six children. We're never told explicitly why they vanish and the series, although having a surface of light and childhood like innocence hides beneath the adult world of fears and perhaps arrogant prejudice that the humans are better than the subservient creatures created to do the things they cannot do. In a society where no human can kill another when someone goes rogue dealing with them is left to groups of genetically altered mole rats. The Frankenstein monsters of the show who turn out to be far more intelligent and resourceful (and resentful of being slaves) than had ever been imagined. A very complex show that will eventually lead to revelation and resolve by the end but until then it's a very bizarre and weird ride - discordant music and sequences that seem to make absolutely no sense whatsoever. This series makes you say out loud quite often "What the ...... is going on ?" A series way outside of most peoples comfort zone when it comes to the usual fare of anime. This is heavy duty stuff but worth persisting as things eventually become clear(er) by the last 3 episodes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 31 August 2014
Don't be fooled by the innocent looking cover art. This show is as dark as they come. Painting a jaw-droppingly beautiful picture of deceptively Utopian communites a thousand years in the future, this show follows the lives of five young teens as they come to terms with their psychic powers. The world-building is incredibly well done, with snippets of a shadowy dark age between our time and the events of the show teased throughout the early episodes before one heck of an info dump lands in ep. 3.

What follows is a moving, always-haunting tale that makes much use of foreshadowing to constantly suggest a level of threat just beneath the surface. With some of the most unique visuals I've seen in an anime for a long time, this show is as refreshing as its rural climes. Like a sliver of ice on a hot summer's day, From The New World toys with the premise of utopian ideals and comes to show us that great powers are as much a curse as they are a blessing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 April 2015
The art style switches between different styles, which feels weird, but somehow becomes okay. There are some clear and positive changes form TV-version, but you can still see "mistakes" that they haven't fixed. It's most likely due to budget limitations, but it would have been nice to see a version with all of it being top notch.

The story is obviously the same as before. They haven't added extras or just small scenes to explain those few thing which is confusing to the audience. They have also kept the previews of the next episode at the end of each episode.

Conclusion: It's only all you've probably already seen, in an improved format.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 July 2015
From episode 5 i think i was hooked and thoroughly enjoyed every minute. This anime is dark, thrilling, scary, fantastical, romantic etc.. all in good doses. The character art (and characters) are very japanimation which in the first few episodes comes across as a slightly strange version of harry potter but very soon you are swept up in action and adventure and you love it. It gets a bit interesting for a minute in episode 8 as characters get emotionally involved but even this change of pace is totally at home. A heart a great adventure for adult or at least adultish audiences.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 April 2015
Shinsekai Yori (From the New World) is a dark storyline, which is about how humanity might deal with evolution if some of us were given psychic powers. I don't want to say too much to give the storyline away, but the first boxset just sets up the story, you won't actually understand the meaning to alot of it until the second part. The story and animation are something unique and special, but you need to be able to appreciate this type of storyline as this is not for the faint hearted and it has a 15 rating for a good reason. More because a younger person would not be able to understand some of the implications of things going on in the story and there are also a lot of deaths. The story itself can be a hard watch at points, but this is definitely worth seeing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 August 2014
A thriller set a thousand years in the future about a group of children growing up and the trials they face.
In this world, told from the children's point of view, life seems idyllic, set in a pleasant rural environment but mankind is a very different creature with powerful psycho kinetic abilities and dark secrets.
The art is good and reminded me of the anime 'Dusk maiden of amnesia' and the OST is nicely done and fits the anime quite well.
With a decent dub and subtitles but being extras lite.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 October 2014
From the new world (or Shin sekai yori in Japan) is just one of the best anime series I have ever seen.

I'm going to keep this pretty short as reviews go but it's puzzling why this anime wasn't huge as I don't think I've seen a negative review about it anywhere?

Great animation, dark and very interesting story with lots of things to keep you absorbed in each episode plus it also has excellent and atmospheric sound with a great end credits tune too!

A seriously good anime that you can watch over again and still be amazed at the imagination that created such a detailed and absorbing story.

Well worth getting the Blu-Ray to show the detailed animation if you have a Blu-Ray player.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)