Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
146
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 November 2014
This is a futurist adventure story set a number of years after a global conflict that reduced human civilisation to a shadow of its former self. Despite the collapse of commerce the remaining human habitations are reasserting a capitalist approach to civilisation, which was one of the first disappointments I found with the book. It is not exactly a post-apocalyptic tale; the human world teetered near the edge but did not fall into the abyss. Alternative ways of humans living socially are not explored, which is a shame because this, I believe, is a missed opportunity.

It is also understandable because the two central characters, Aiden and Frederick, are indulged in an airborne trade business using a left-over aircraft from the war. They risk pirates, bandits and rogue traders in a pursuit of either one big score or the opportunity to establish a consistent method of making a profit. At the start of the book they find themselves in the Crimea where they fall foul of the huge warship ‘Gilgamesh’ that uses its still active gunnery and compliment of marines to bully its way around the world in a never ending quest for resources and wealth.

C. S. Arnott has ability as a writer and spins an engaging tale of adventure in an imagined future, ‘Flying the Storm’ is not a difficult book to read. However I did not find myself taking to the two lead characters. Aiden is frequently morose and begrudging of others, and Frederick never gets to display much depth of character. The background of living in the shadow of a great war also lack development, seemingly existing only as an excuse for people to slip back into barbaric ways. It allows for violence but little else.

There is hardly any explanation as to how a vessel as massive as the Gilgamesh operates and I found this lack of technical depth also disappointing. The story is direct and linear, hence easy to read, with a subplot suggested concerning the re-emergence of Armenia as a country once more but it is not explored at this stage and there is no explanation as to the fate of the other countries of the world, although Glasgow seems to have a fully functioning hospital.

In conclusion ‘Flying the Storm’ was an entertaining read but not wholly satisfying. The lack of development of the background material, the social, political, technical threads for example, gives it a lightweight feel. This is fine if this was the author’s objective but as a science fiction reader I was hoping for something more. A good book and it could be the start of something bigger but it needs more work on the world it portrays and the characters that inhabit it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2014
The book is set in the future after World War 3 which lasted 30 years. Now, 20 years after the end of the war,
the world is still in chaos. A gigantic airship used in the war is now used by air pirates (Marines) who devastate
towns, stealing and killing.

Aiden and Fredrick own a small plane and try to earn money flying goods from one war ravaged place to the
next. After a fight with some marines, they beat a hasty retreat in their plane which is equipped with guns.
They and their plane are recruited by various towns to help them in their fights against bandits and the marines.

80% through, I lost a lot of interest and skim-read. There was a long air battle between 2 big planes which
became repetitive. The ending was obviously left so the reader would buy the next book. However, I didn't find
either main characters interesting enough to go on to the next in the series.
An o.k read.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2015
I found this story riveting. The plot held me throughout and, though there were a few holes, overall the book was a great read with good visualisation and likeable characters. One of the things that stood out immediately for me is that Arnot writes in a pleasing, fluid manner and, unlike so many new, self-published authors, he has taken the time to proof read the book before delivering it to readers.

I understand that, as a PhD student, he has a lot on his plate, but I'd love to see the sequel so neatly lined-up in 'Flying the Storm' or another story that fleshes out this 'Universe'. Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2014
This book is based around two characters trying to carve out a living after a devastating war between two superpowers before being drawn into fights, flights and plots.

Action, intrigue, suspense and interesting twists leave the reader wanting more. A great first novel from a new author!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2014
A good storyline with convincing characters and several interesting twists and turns. This book stands up well amongst some of the more illustrious members of the genre. The easy but mature writing style makes it an enjoyable read and, on this evidence, this author has considerable potential. At the end of the book the door is left open for a sequel and I would look forward very much to reading more.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2015
Have to agree with reviewer Mrs Bruce on this one, the story is a good one, but the author just lacks the skills to add feeling to the action scenes.
The pace of the whole book is a bit pedestrian and like Mrs Bruce I started to skim read just after the half way point.

But this is the first attempt from this author, so I hope that he will continue to write and hopefully improve his style just a little. The ending of this book indicates that a follow up is planned, and since this novel was free I am willing to buy the next one just to be fair to C S Arnot.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2014
Without giving any spoilers, I'd recommend it. It has a 'space opera' feel in that the universe C.S Arnot has created feels believable, the physics as described seem to work. There are no moustache twirling villains, the characters have believable motivations (even if they are not the most 'people friendly' when acting on their motivations).
There is one or two clunky moments in the story telling but nothing to snap you out of the story.

All in all, a darn good read and I look forward to future instalments.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2014
I enjoyed this book as it had an interesting take on a possible future where government and security are in meltdown. Don't think I would bother with sequels but it was a step up from many of the free Kindle reads. The writing does flow and I will have a look at other C S Arnot books if I come across them. Bottom line - good time filler and decent novel.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2014
Succinct and punchy writing paints images that I will not forget. Fast moving action scenes include you as a witness to near disaster and eventual success.
Reverence for the fallen and a clear understanding of human nature in the face of threat come through clearly.
A mighty good read.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2014
I can't believe this is free. My first kindle book and what a choice I made. The story and characters are gripping and likeable. I couldn't put the book down. Very well written, humorous, action packed science fiction. This could easy be a movie. Deserves a sequel!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse