Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
13
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 October 2014
Some may know Fernando Duarte from his occasional appearances on the Guardian's Football Weekly podcast. He is a passionate Brazilian who always offers a frank, unvarnished opinion on football and the love of his life, The Seleção. As evidenced in the book, he is an accomplished sports writer and social commentator.

Adds a great deal of socio-economic background to each story, some of which was very unfamiliar to me.

The 2014 World Cup has proved Duarte with material for an extra chapter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2014
Good book to show how Brazil's life is so important and how important the culture of football is an important thread in their life. The book takes you through the downs of Brazil in each World cup failure. Amazing stories of the early 1950s and how the country shunned the public. The Ronaldo story in the 1998 World Cup Final will we ever get an answer!!!. Neymar's story in the end is the final chapter of an unfinished book. The 2014 finals would be an interesting read if it ever comes out>
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2014
A brilliant and illuminating insight tracking Brazil's history in the World Cup through its most despairing and in some cases like 1982 tragic results. That football and politics are very much one and the same in Brazil is brought home in this excellent narrative and many of the predictions made, in light of the 2014 World Cup and THAT match vs Germany were already predicted in this book BEFORE the World Cup started so for the authors watching that match I doubt they would have been so shocked as the rest of the world! I really hope they will shortly bring out a revised edition renamed SEVEN Games that shook the World Cup. My own prediction is that IF Brazil does not undergo a sea of change in how football in Brazil is run and developed (and with all the political infighting that may never properly happen?) then there is a strong chance that Brazil (like England) may NEVER again win a World Cup certainly in my lifetime and having grown up in the 70s in wonderment at that great Brazil side and again in 82 I never thought that is something I would hear myself saying and I hope for the better of football in a country who truly worship the game, that I am proved wrong but sadly somehow I doubt it and can see Germany surpassing those 5 World Cups by 2030.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2014
This is a very good book which gives an overview of pivotal moments in Brazilian football history from 1950 to the present day. Duarte writes well and with authority on the subject. Well worth the purchase.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2014
I enjoyed this more than I thought I might. It went into a lot of depth about each match, and there was a great deal of background and interesting detail.

Mr Duarte comes across as a little eccentric in some of his media appearances, but the book is very well written. Hopefully he'll write some more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2014
Brilliant book combining Football politics skulduggery humour and more. Would recommend to any Football fan. More poignant for reading just after the defeat to Germany.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2015
Great dip into the history of football in Brazil and the aftermath of when the Selecao doesn't deliver. Great to read about France 98 in particular.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2015
Fantastic look at the beautiful game in brasil and it's shortcomings. Highly reccomend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2014
Great read with interesing facts about the team and politics of each era.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2014
Great service......good seller. Many thanks Allan Dawkins
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)